

1 . . .

UNITED NATIONS GENERAL ASSEMBLY



D**istr.** GENERAL

A/34/521/Add.1 15 December 1979

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Thirty-fourth session Agenda item 17 (a)

APPOINTMENTS TO FILL VACANCIES IN SUBSIDIARY ORGANS

Appointment of five members of the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions

Report of the Fifth Committee

Rapporteur: Mr. Ali Ben-Said KHAMIS (Algeria)

1. At its 72nd meeting, on 6 December 1979, the Fifth Committee considered a note by the Secretary-General (A/34/261) concerning the vacancies in the membership of the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions which will occur as a result of expiration of the terms of office of five members on 31 December 1979.

2. The Fifth Committee had before it two notes by the Secretary-General containing the names of six persons nominated by their respective Governments for appointment to the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions (A/C.5/34/47 and Add.1).

3. The Fifth Committee voted by secret ballot to decide on its recommendation to the General Assembly. The result of the voting was as follows:

Number of ballot papers:	134
Number of invalid ballots:	1
Number of valid ballots:	133
Abstentions:	0
Number of members voting:	133
Required majority:	67

A/34/521/Add.1 English Page 2

Number of votes obtained:

Mr.	Andrzej Abraszewski	123
Mr.	Anwar Kemal	123
Mr.	Christopher R. Thomas	119
Mr.	Mohamed Malloun Fall	104
Mr.	C. S. M. Mselle	95
Mr.	Michael G. Okeyo	49

4. Mr. Andrzej Abraszewski (Poland), Mr. Mohamed Malloun Fall (Mauritania), Mr. Anwar Kemal (Pakistan), Mr. C. S. M. Mselle (United Republic of Tanzania) and Mr. Christopher R. Thomas (Trinidad and Tobago), having received the **required** majority, were declared recommended for appointment as members of the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions for terms of office of three years commencing on 1 January 1980.

RECOMMENDATION OF THE FIFTH COMMITTEE

5. The Fifth Committee recommends that the General Assembly should appoint the following persons as members of the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 1980:

Mr. Andrzej Abraszewski,

Mr. Mohamed Malloun Fall,

Mr. Anwar Kemal,

Mr. C. S. M. Mselle,

Mr. Christopher R. Thomas.