

Distr.: General 28 February 2017

English only

Special Committee on Peacekeeping Operations New York, 21 February-17 March 2017 Agenda item 4 Organization of work

Members of the Special Committee on Peacekeeping Operations

Note by the Secretariat

The present document contains a list of the 153 members of the Special Committee on Peacekeeping Operations, provided in accordance with General Assembly resolutions 2006 (XIX), 43/59 B and 51/136 for the purpose of information and easy reference. It also includes a list of Member States that are eligible for membership, in accordance with resolution 51/136.

Members of the Special Committee	Member since
Afghanistan	1965
Albania	2008
Algeria	1965
Angola	2009
Argentina	1965
Armenia	1999
Australia	1965
Austria	1965
Azerbaijan	1997
Bangladesh	1997
Belarus	1997
Belgium	1997
Benin	1997





Members of the Special Committee	Member since
Bhutan	2015
Bolivia (Plurinational State of)	1999
Bosnia and Herzegovina	2008
Brazil	1965-1977 and since 1997 ¹
Brunei Darussalam	2017
Bulgaria	1997
Burkina Faso	1999
Burundi	2009
Cambodia	2006
Cameroon	2000
Canada	1965
Central African Republic	2006
Chad	2000
Chile	1997
China	1988
Colombia	1997
Congo	1997
Costa Rica	2005
Côte d'Ivoire	1998
Croatia	1997
Cuba	1997
Cyprus	1997
Czechia	1997 ²
Democratic Republic of the Congo	2009

¹ Brazil was an original member of the Special Committee. At the 111th plenary meeting of its thirty-second session, on 21 December 1977, the General Assembly announced, in its decision 32/318 B, the appointment by the President of the Assembly of Guatemala as a member of the Special Committee to fill the vacancy caused by the withdrawal of Brazil. Brazil participated again in meetings as an observer in 1996 and became a member in 1997.

² Czechoslovakia was a member of the Special Committee from 1965 to 1977. At the 103rd plenary meeting of its thirty-second session, on 15 December 1977, the General Assembly announced, in its decision 32/318 A, the appointment by the President of the Assembly of the German Democratic Republic as a member of the Special Committee to fill the vacancy caused by the withdrawal of Czechoslovakia.

Members of the Special Committee	Member since	
Denmark	1969 ³	
Djibouti	2007	
Dominican Republic	2007	
Ecuador	1997	
Egypt	1965	
El Salvador	1965	
Eritrea	2009	
Estonia	1997	
Ethiopia	1965	
Fiji	1997	
Finland	1997	
France	1965	
Gabon	2000	
Gambia	2000	
Georgia	1997	
Germany	1977^{4}	
Ghana	1997	
Greece	1997	
Grenada	2007	
Guatemala	1977 ⁵	
Guinea	2000	
Guyana	2006	
Haiti	2008	
Honduras	1997	

³ By a letter dated 8 December 1969, the Permanent Representative of Sweden informed the President of the General Assembly that his Government had decided to withdraw from the Special Committee. The President of the Assembly appointed Denmark to fill the vacancy caused by the withdrawal of Sweden. At its 1838th plenary meeting, on 17 December 1969, the Assembly took note of that appointment.

⁴ At the 103rd plenary meeting of its thirty-second session, on 15 December 1977, the General Assembly announced, in its decision 32/318 A, the appointment by the President of the Assembly of the German Democratic Republic as a member of the Special Committee to fill the vacancy caused by the withdrawal of Czechoslovakia.

⁵ At the 111th plenary meeting of its thirty-second session, on 21 December 1977, the General Assembly announced, in its decision 32/318 B, the appointment by the President of the Assembly of Guatemala as a member of the Special Committee to fill the vacancy caused by the withdrawal of Brazil.

Members of the Special Committee	Member since
Hungary	1965
Iceland	2002
India	1965
Indonesia	1997
Iran (Islamic Republic of)	1997
Iraq	1965
Ireland	1997
Israel	2008
Italy	1965
Jamaica	1997
Japan	1965
Jordan	1997
Kazakhstan	1997
Kenya	1997
Kuwait	1997
Kyrgyzstan	1997
Lao People's Democratic Republic	1997
Latvia	2017
Lebanon	1997
Lesotho	2011
Liberia	2015
Libya	1997
Lithuania	1997
Luxembourg	1997
Madagascar	2007
Malawi	2000
Malaysia	1997
Mali	1997
Mauritania	1965
Mauritius	2007
Mexico	1965

Members of the Special Committee	Member since
Mongolia	2006
Montenegro	2008
Morocco	1997
Mozambique	2000
Myanmar	2015
Namibia	1997
Nepal	1997
Netherlands	1965
New Zealand	1997
Nicaragua	2011
Niger	2000
Nigeria	1965
Norway	1997
Pakistan	1965
Palau	2006
Papua New Guinea	2013
Paraguay	2006
Peru	1997
Philippines	1997
Poland	1965
Portugal	1997
Qatar	2008
Republic of Korea	1997
Republic of Moldova	2000
Romania	1965
Russian Federation	1965
Rwanda	2006
Samoa	2007
Saudi Arabia	2002
Senegal	1997
Serbia	2003

Members of the Special Committee	Member since
Sierra Leone	1965
Singapore	1997
Slovakia	1997 ²
Slovenia	1999
South Africa	1997
Spain	1965
Sri Lanka	2005
Sudan	1997
Swaziland	2007
Sweden	1965-1969 and since 1997 ⁶
Switzerland	2003
Syrian Arab Republic	1998
Thailand	1965
The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia	2007
Timor-Leste	2006
Togo	2000
Tunisia	1997
Turkey	1997
Uganda	1997
Ukraine	1997
United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland	1965
United Republic of Tanzania	2006
United States of America	1965
Uruguay	1997
Vanuatu	2010
Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)	1965

⁶ Sweden was an original member of the Special Committee. By a letter dated 8 December 1969, the Permanent Representative of Sweden informed the President of the General Assembly that his Government had decided to withdraw from the Special Committee. The President of the Assembly appointed Denmark to fill the vacancy caused by the withdrawal of Sweden. At its 1838th plenary meeting, on 17 December 1969, the Assembly took note of that appointment. Sweden participated again in the Committee meetings in 1996 as an observer and became a member in 1997.

Members of the Special Committee	Member since
Viet Nam	2009
Yemen	2007
Zambia	1997
Zimbabwe	1997

Member States that are eligible for membership in accordance with resolution $51/136^7$

Based on being a contributor of personnel to peacekeeping operations:

Guinea-Bissau

Solomon Islands

Based on three consecutive years of observer status:

Panama

⁷ Status as at 31 January 2017.