United Nations E/2017/9/Add.8



Economic and Social Council

Distr.: General 7 February 2017

Original: English

2017 session

28 July 2016-27 July 2017 Agenda item 4

Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

Election of five members of the Programme Coordinating Board of the Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS

Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. The Programme Coordinating Board of the Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS (UNAIDS) has 22 members. In accordance with its decision 1995/223, the Economic and Social Council is to elect, from among States Members of the United Nations and observer States, five members of the Programme Coordinating Board for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2018 to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2017 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Brazil, Burundi, Canada, Iran (Islamic Republic of) and Norway.
- 2. The election will be held at the coordination and management meeting of the Council, from 19 to 21 April 2017.
- 3. The five members are to be elected according to the following pattern:
 - (a) One member from African States;
 - (b) One member from Asia-Pacific States;
 - (c) One member from Latin American and Caribbean States;
 - (d) Two members from Western European and other States.
- 4. The membership of the Programme Coordinating Board in 2017 is listed in the annex to the present note.





Annex

Programme Coordinating Board of the Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS

(22 members; three-year term)

Membership in 2017

Five members from African States

Algeria (2019), Burundi* (2017), Ghana (2018), Madagascar (2019), Malawi (2018)

Five members from Asia-Pacific States

China (2018), India (2019), Indonesia (2019), Iran (Islamic Republic of)* (2017), Japan (2018)

Two members from Eastern European States

Belarus (2019), Russian Federation (2018)

Three members from Latin American and Caribbean States

Brazil* (2017), Ecuador (2018), Mexico (2019)

Seven members from Western European and other States

Australia*, (2017), Germany (2019), Norway* (2017), Portugal^b (2018), Sweden^c (2018), United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (2018), United States of America (2019)

* Retiring member.

2/2 17-01862

^a Replaced Canada as from 1 January 2017.

^b Replaced the Netherlands as from 1 January 2017.

^c Replaced Switzerland as from 1 January 2017.