



General Assembly

Distr. GENERAL

A/40/405 2 July 1985

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Fortieth session
Item 16 (d) of the preliminary list*

ELECTIONS TO FILL VACANCIES IN SUBSIDIARY ORGANS AND OTHER ELECTIONS

Election of seven members of the Committee for Programme and Co-ordination

Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. In accordance with paragraph 7 of the terms of reference of the Committee for Programme and Co-ordination (Economic and Social Council resolution 2008 (LX) of 14 May 1976, annex), the members of the Committee are nominated by the Economic and Social Council and elected by the General Assembly for a term of three years.
- 2. The membership of the Committee in 1985 is as follows (see General Assembly decision 39/312):

Argentina,* Bangladesh,*** Byelorussian Soviet Socialist Republic,***
Cameroon,** Egypt,** Ethiopia,* France,* Germany, Federal Republic of,***
India,** Indonesia,** Japan,** Liberia,** Netherlands,*** Nigeria,* Trinidad
and Tobago,*** Union of Soviet Socialist Republics,* United Kingdom of Great
Britain and Northern Ireland,*** United States of America* and Yugoslavia.***

^{*} Term of office expires on 31 December 1985.

^{**} Term of office expires on 31 December 1986.

^{***} Term of office expires on 31 December 1987.

^{*} A/40/50/Rev.1.

- 3. The General Assembly, at its fortieth session, will, therefore, be called upon to elect seven members, on the nomination of the Economic and Social Council, to fill the vacancies in the Committee for Programme and Co-ordination which will occur as a result of the expiration of the terms of office of Argentina, Chile, Ethiopia, France, Nigeria, the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics and the United States of America. In accordance with paragraph 7 of the terms of reference of the Committee, the vacancies are to be filled as follows:
 - (a) Two members from African States;
 - (b) One member from Eastern European States;
 - (c) Two members from Latin American States;
 - (d) Two members from Western European and other States.
- 4. By its decision 1985/160 of 30 May 1985, the Economic and Social Council nominated the following Member States for election by the General Assembly at its fortieth session, for a term of three years, beginning on 1 January 1986:
 - (a) African States (2 vacancies): Benin and Zambia;
 - (b) Eastern European States (1 vacancy): Union of Soviet Socialist Republics;
 - (c) Latin American States (2 vacancies): Argentina, Bolivia, Chile and Peru;
- (d) <u>Western European and other States</u> (2 vacancies): France and United States of America.