

# UNITED NATIONS

## G E N E R A L A S S E M B L Y



Distr. GENERAL

A/7281 18 October 1968

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Twenty-third session Agenda item 63

INFORMATION FROM NON-SELF-GOVERNING TERRITORIES
TRANSMITTED UNDER ARTICLE 73 e OF THE CHARTER
OF THE UNITED NATIONS

### Report of the Secretary-General

- 1. Under the terms of Article 73 e of the Charter of the United Nations, Member States which have or assume responsibilities for the administration of Territories whose peoples have not yet attained a full measure of self-government undertake to transmit regularly to the Secretary-General information relating to economic, social and educational conditions in the Territories for which they are responsible, other than those Territories to which the International Trusteeship System applies. In addition, the General Assembly in several resolutions, the most recent of which was resolution 2351 (XXII) of 19 December 1967, urged those Member States "to transmit, or continue to transmit, to the Secretary-General the information prescribed in Article 73 e of the Charter, as well as the fullest possible information on political and constitutional development in the Territories concerned".
- 2. The table annexed to the present report shows the dates on which information called for in Article 73 e was transmitted to the Secretary-General in respect of the years 1966 and 1967 up to 18 October 1968.
- 3. The information transmitted under Article 73 e of the Charter follows in general the standard form approved by the General Assembly and includes information on geography, history, population and economic, social and educational conditions. In the case of Territories under the administration of Australia, France, New Zealand, Spain and the United States of America, the annual reports on the Territories, which also included information on constitutional matters, were transmitted. Additional information on political and constitutional developments in Territories under their

administration was also given by the representatives of Australia, New Zealand, Spain, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and the United States of America during meetings of the Special Committee.

- 4. No information has been transmitted to the Secretary-General concerning Territories under Portuguese administration, which, by resolution 1542 (XV) of 15 December 1960, the General Assembly considered were Non-Self-Governing Territories within the meaning of Chapter XI of the Charter. Nor has the Secretary-General received information concerning Southern Rhodesia which, the Assembly affirmed by resolution 1747 (XVI) of 28 June 1962, was a Non-Self-Governing Territory within the meaning of Chapter XI of the Charter. Furthermore, the Secretary-General has not received information concerning Antigua, Dominica, Grenada, St. Kitts-Nevis-Anguilla and St. Lucia.
- 5. In compliance with the provisions of paragraph 5 of resolution 1970 (XVIII) of 16 December 1963, paragraph 4 of resolution 2109 (XX) of 21 December 1965, paragraph 4 of resolution 2233 (XXI) of 20 December 1966 and paragraph 5 of resolution 2351 (XXII) of 19 December 1967 in which the General Assembly requested the Special Committee to study the information transmitted under Article 73 e, and in accordance with the procedure established by the Special Committee in 1964. this information was taken into account by the Special Committee in its consideration of the Territories concerned and is reflected in the chapter of the Special Committee's report to the General Assembly at its current session dealing with each of these Territories. The report also contains an account of the action taken by the Special Committee in implementation of resolution 1970 (XVIII).

<sup>1</sup>/ See the list annexed to the present report and foot-note (f) thereof.

<sup>2/</sup> Official Records of the General Assembly, Nineteenth Session, Annexes, annex No. 8 (A/5800/Rev.1), chap. II.

<sup>3/</sup>A/7200 and Add.1 to 11.

<sup>4/</sup> A/7200/Add.11, chap. XXXII.

#### ANNEX

### Date of transmission of information under Article 73 e for 1966 and 1967

This table includes all Territories listed in annex III of the report of the Committee on Information from Non-Self-Governing Territories to the General Assembly at its eighteenth session, with the exception of Aden, Barbados, Basutoland, Bechuanaland, British Guiana, Cook Islands, Gambia, Kenya, Malta, Mauritius, North Borneo, Northern Rhodesia, Nyasaland, Sarawak, Singapore and Zanzibar.

	<u>1966</u>	<u> 1967</u>
AUSTRALIA (1 July-30 June) b/		
Cocos (Keeling) Islands	19 July 1967	•
Papua	19 July 1967	
FRANCE (calendar year) Comoro Archipelago <sup>c</sup> /	-	
French Territory of the Afars and the Issas $\underline{c}/\underline{d}/$	-	
New Hebrides (condominium with the United Kingdom)	30 October 1967	
NEW ZEALAND (1 April-31 March) e/		
Niue Island	15 August 1967	
Tokelau Islands	15 August 1967	

a/ Official Records of the General Assembly, Eighteenth Session, Supplement No. 14 (A/5514), Part One, annex III.

 $<sup>\</sup>underline{b}$ / Period extends from 1 July of previous year to 30 June of year listed.

c/ On 27 March 1959, the Government of France notified the Secretary-General that this Territory had attained internal autonomy and, consequently the transmission of information thereon had ceased as from 1957.

d/ The above designation of the Territory, formerly called French Scmaliland is the subject of Terminology Bulletin No. 240 (ST/CS/SER.F/240).

e/ Period extends from 1 April of the year listed to 31 March of the following year.

	1966	<u>1967</u>
PORTUGAL		
Angola	-	-
Cape Verde Archipelago	-	<del>-</del>
Guinea (called Portuguese Guinea)	-	
Macau and dependencies	, <del>-</del>	-
Mozambique	-	<u></u>
São Tomé and Príncipe and dependencies	-	-
Timor (Portuguese) and dependencies	-	-
SPAIN (calendar year)		
Equatorial Guinea	29 June 1967	25 June 1968
Ifni	29 June <b>1</b> 967	25 June 1968
Spanish Sahara	29 June 1967	25 June 1968
UNITED KINGDOM (calendar year)		
Antiguaf/	-	-
Bahamas	11 September 1967	-
Bermuda	23 November 1967	-
British Honduras	15 September 1967	-
British Virgin Islands	-	-
Brunei	18 September 1967	8 July 1968
Cayman Islands	21 August 1967	5 July 1968
Dominica <sup>f</sup> /	-	-
Falkland Islands (Malvinas)	28 August 1967	13 August 1968
Fiji	5 July 1967	2 <b>3</b> Ju <b>ly 1</b> 968
Gibraltar	24 August 1967	-
Gilbert and Ellice Islands	11 September 1967	15 July 1968

In a statement made at the 1752nd meeting of the Fourth Committee on 15 December 1967, the representative of the United Kingdom stated that, having achieved the status of Associated States, these Territories had achieved "a full measure of self-government". His Government had fully and finally discharged its responsibilities under Chapter XI of the Charter and information concerning those Territories would not be transmitted in future.

	1966	1967
UNITED KINGDOM (calendar year) (continued)		
Grenada f	-	-
Hong Kong	12 September 1967	15 August 1968
Montserrat	12 December 1967	-
New Hebrides (condominium with France)	11 September 1967	3 July 1968
Pitcairn Island	2 June 1967	12 July 1968
St. Helena	11 September 1967	3 July 1968
St. Kitts-Nevis-Anguilla	· •	-
St. Lucia <sup><u>f</u></sup>	-	_
St. Vincent	16 October 1967	-
Seychelles	30 September 1967	-
Solomon Islands	14 July 1967	5 July 1968
Southern Rhodesia	-	-
Swaziland	11 September 1967	-
Turks and Caicos Islands	15 January 1968	<del>-</del>
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA (1 July-30 June) <u>b</u> /		
American Samoa	14 March 1968	14 March 1968
Guam	13 September 1967	14 March 1968
United States Virgin Islands	13 September 1967	20 March 1968