

## UNITED NATIONS GENERAL ASSEMBLY



Distr. GENERAL

A/9776 26 September 1974

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Twenty-ninth session Agenda items 23 and 66

IMPLEMENTATION OF THE DECLARATION ON THE GRANTING OF INDEPENDENCE TO COLONIAL COUNTRIES AND PEOPLES

QUESTION OF TERRITORIES UNDER PORTUGUESE DOMINATION

Letter dated 25 September 1974 from the Permanent Representative of Portugal to the United Nations addressed to the Secretary-General

I have the honour to transmit herewith, under instructions of my Government, the list of the members of the new Government of Mozambique, established under the provisions of the agreement between Portugal and the Mozambique Liberation Front (FRELIMO) signed at Lusaka on 7 September 1974.

Prime Minister: Mr. Joaquim Chissano (FRELIMO);

Minister of Justice: Mr. Rui Baltazar dos Santos Alves (FRELIMO);

Minister for Home Affairs: Mr. Armando Guebuza (FRELIMO);

Minister for Economic Co-ordination: Mr. Mario Madungo (FRELIMO);

Minister of Information: Mr. José Óscar Monteiro (FRELIMO);

Minister of Education: Mr. Gideon Nbo Digo Ndobe (FRELIMO);

Minister of Labour: Mr. Mario Matsinhe (FRELIMO);

Minister of Communications and Transportation: Mr. Eugenio Picolo (Portugal);

Minister for Health and Welfare: Dr. António Paulino (Portugal);

Minister of Public Works: Mr. Luis de Alcântara Santos (Portugal).

I should very much appreciate it if Your Excellency would direct that this letter be circulated as an official document of the General Assembly, under agenda items 23 and 66.

(<u>Signed</u>) José VEIGA SIMÃO
Permanent Representative of Portugal
to the United Nations