

Distr.: General 2 December 2016

Original: English

Commission for Social Development Fifty-fifth session 1-10 February 2017 Programme questions and other matters: United Nations Research Institute for Social Development

Nomination of members of the Board of the United Nations Research Institute for Social Development

Note by the Secretary-General

1. The functions of the Board of the United Nations Research Institute for Social Development, which are set out in paragraph 3 of document ST/SGB/126 of 1 August 1963 and in its addenda, are:

(a) To lay down general rules governing the action of the Institute in matters entrusted to it;

(b) To review and approve work programmes and the relevant budgets of the Institute;

(c) To submit regularly to the Commission for Social Development a progress report on the work of the Institute.

2. At present, the Board is composed of:

(a) A Chair, appointed by the Secretary-General;

(b) Eight members nominated by the Commission for Social Development and confirmed by the Economic and Social Council, with two seats vacant;

(c) A representative of the Secretary-General;

(d) Representatives of selected United Nations specialized agencies, departments and regional entities who participate as observers;

(e) The Director of the United Nations Research Institute for Social Development, ex officio.





3. The term of office of the members of the Board referred to in paragraph 2 (b) above is four years, renewable once for a further period of two years.¹

4. Maureen O'Neil (Canada) has been Chair of the Board since 2011. The nominated members of the Board are:

Jimi Adesina (South Africa), Professor and Department of Science and Technology/National Research Foundation South African Research Chairs Initiative Chair of Social Policy, University of South Africa

Asef Bayat (United States of America), Professor of Sociology, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Ping Huang (China), Director, Institute of American Studies, Chinese Academy of Social Sciences

David Hulme (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland), Professor, School of Environment and Development, University of Manchester

Saraswathi Menon (India), former Director, Policy Division, United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women (UN-Women)

Joakim Palme (Sweden), Professor of Political Science, Department of Government, Uppsala University

Patricia Schulz (Switzerland), Expert, Commission on the Status of Women

Onalenna Selolwane (Botswana), Senior Lecturer, Department of Sociology, University of Botswana

5. The term of office of the following two members will expire on 30 June 2017. They will have served on the Board for six years:

Ping Huang, Patricia Schulz

6. The term of office of the following five members will expire on 30 June 2017, and they are eligible for renomination for a further period of two years:

Jimi Adesina, Asef Bayat, David Hulme, Joakim Palme, Onalenna Selolwane

7. At its fifty-fifth session, the Commission will be called upon to extend the terms of office of the five members referred to in paragraph 6 above for an additional two-year term expiring on 30 June 2019.

8. In view of the current financial circumstances of the Institute and its reduced staff numbers as a result of resource constraints, at its fifty-fifth session the Commission is requested to consider nominating only one new member, to replace one of the members referred to in paragraph 5 above. Consequently, in July 2017 the Board would have seven members and three seats would be left vacant.

9. Should the Commission agree to this proposal, it will be called upon to nominate one new member for a four-year term expiring on 30 June 2021. The biographical information of the new candidate is contained in the annex to the present note.

¹ In its resolution 10 (XXV), the Commission decided that the term of office of each nominated member of the Board should not exceed a total of six years.

Annex

Biographical information*

Sylvie Durrer (Switzerland)

Personal data

Date of birth: 1960

Present position

Director, Swiss Federal Office for Gender Equality

Experience

Chief, Cantonal Office for Gender Equality, Vaud (2006-2011)

Assistant Professor, French Linguistics, University of Lausanne (2001-2006)

Co-Director, Doctoral Programme in Gender Studies, Universities of Geneva and Lausanne (2001-2004)

Assistant Professor, French Linguistics, University of Zurich (1996-2001)

Lecturer, French Linguistics, University of Zurich (1992-1996)

Education

Executive Diploma in Public Policy Management, Swiss Graduate School of Public Administration (IDHEAP)

Ph.D., French Linguistics, University of Lausanne

M.A., Literature, University of Lausanne

^{*} Curricula vitae are issued without formal editing.