

UNITED NATIONS

GENERAL ASSEMBLY



Distr. GENERAL

A/9131 24 August 1973

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Twenty-eighth session
Item 28 of the provisional agenda*

APPOINTMENT OF THE MEMBERS OF THE PEACE OBSERVATION COMMISSION

Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. The Peace Observation Commission was established by the General Assembly on 3 November 1950 under resolution 377 A (V). At its 2025th plenary meeting, on 18 December 1971, the General Assembly decided to reappoint for the years 1972 and 1973 the following 13 members of the Commission: Czechoslovakia, France, Honduras, India, Iraq, Israel, New Zealand, Pakistan, Sweden, Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America and Uruguay.
- 2. In view of the fact that the terms of office of the present members of the Peace Observation Commission expire on 31 December 1973, the General Assembly will be required at its twenty-eighth session to consider the question of the membership of the Commission.

^{*} A/9100.