

UNITED NATIONS

GENERAL ASSEMBLY



Distr. GENERAL

A/9181/Add.1 18 October 1973

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Twenty-eighth session Agenda item 85 (a)

APPOINTMENTS TO FILL VACANCIES IN THE MEMBERSHIP OF SUBSIDIARY ORGANS OF THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY

ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON ADMINISTRATIVE AND BUDGETARY QUESTIONS

Report of the Fifth Committee (Part II)

Rapporteur: Mr. Ernesto C. GARRIDO (Philippines)

- 1. At its 1576th meeting, held on 16 October 1973, the Fifth Committee considered a note by the Secretary-General (A/9101) concerning the vacancies which will occur in the membership of the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions as a result of the expiration on 31 December 1973 of the terms of office of four of its members.
- 2. The members of the Fifth Committee had been invited to submit the names of persons who might be recommended to the General Assembly for appointment to the Advisory Committee in accordance with rules 157 and 158 of the rules of procedure of the General Assembly. Four names were submitted for the consideration of the Committee (A/C.5/1531).
- 3. The Fifth Committee voted by secret ballot to decide on its recommendations. The result of the voting was as follows:

Number of ballot papers:	96
Invalid ballots:	0
Number of valid ballots:	96
Abstentions:	0
Number of members voting:	96
Required majority:	49

Number of votes obtained:

Mr.	Paulo Lopes Corrêa	92
Mr.	C. S. M. Mselle	91
Mr.	Stanislaw Raczkowski	85
Mr.	Louis-Dominique Ouédraogo	83

Seven other persons received a total of 13 votes.

4. Mr. Corrêa (Brazil), Mr. Mselle (United Republic of Tanzania), Mr. Raczkowski (Poland) and Mr. Ouédraogo (Upper Volta), having received the required majority, were declared recommended for appointment as members of the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgerary Questions for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 1974.

RECOMMENDATION OF THE FIFTH COMMITTEE

5. The Fifth Committee recommends to the General Assembly the adoption of the following draft resolution:

Appointments to fill vacancies in the membership of the Advisory

Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions

в <u>1</u>/

The General Assembly

Appoints the following persons as members of the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 1974:

Mr. Paulo Lopes Corrêa,

Mr. C. S. M. Mselle,

Mr. Louis-Dominique Ouédraogo,

Mr. Stanislaw Raczkowski.

^{1/} For resolution A, see A/RES/3052 (XXVIII).