

UNITED NATIONS GENERAL ASSEMBLY



Distr. GENERAL

A/9101 13 July 1973

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Twenty-eighth session Item 85 (a) of the preliminary list*

> APPOINTMENTS TO FILL VACANCIES IN THE MEMBERSHIP OF SUBSIDIARY ORGANS OF THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY

ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON ADMINISTRATIVE AND BUDGETARY QUESTIONS

Note by the Secretary-General

1. The rules of procedure of the General Assembly provide that:

"Rule 157

"The General Assembly shall appoint an Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions (hereinafter called the 'Advisory Committee') consisting of thirteen members, including at least three financial experts of recognized standing.

"Rule 158

"The members of the Advisory Committee, no. two of whom shall be nationals of the same State, shall be selected on the basis of broad geographical representation, personal qualifications and experience and shall serve for a period of three years corresponding to three financial years, as defined in the Financial Regulations of the United Nations. Members shall retire by rotation and shall be eligible for reappointment. The three financial experts shall not retire simultaneously. The General Assembly shall appoint the members of the Advisory Committee at the regular session immediately preceding the expiration of the term of office of the members or, in case of vacancies, at the next session."

* A/9000.

73-16005

/...

A/9101 English Page 2

2. The present membership of the Committee is as follows:

Mr. Mohamed Alwan (Iraq)** Mr. Paulo Lopes Corrêa (Brazil)* Mr. Mohsen S. Esfandiary (Iran)** Mr. Lucio García del Solar (Argentina)*** Mr. Lucio García del Solar (Argentina)*** Mr. Anatoly V. Grodsky (Union of Soviet Socialist Republics)*** Mr. Hsing Sung-yi (China)** Mr. Hsing Sung-yi (China)** Mr. Ahmed Tewfik Khalil (Egypt)* Mr. Ahmed Tewfik Khalil (Egypt)* Mr. Mario Majoli (Italy)*** Mr. C. S. M. Mselle (United Republic of Tanzania)* Mr. André Naudy (France)** Mr. John I. M. Rhodes (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland)** Mr. David L. Stottlemyer (United States of America)*** Mr. József Tardos (Hungary)*

* Term expires on 31 December 1973.
** Term expires on 31 December 1974.
*** Term expires on 31 December 1975.

3. At its twenty-fifth session, the General Assembly, by resolution 2620 B (XXV) of 9 November 1970, appointed Mr. Lopes Corrêa, Mr. Khalil, Mr. Mselle and Mr. Tardos for three-year terms beginning on 1 January 1971. Since the terms of office of these members of the Committee are due to expire on 31 December 1973, it will be necessary for the General Assembly at its twenty-eighth session to appoint four persons to fill the resulting vacancies. The members so appointed will serve for a period of three years, beginning on 1 January 1974.

4. In addition, Mr. Alwan has submitted his resignation from the Advisory Committee, with effect from 14 July 1973. It will be necessary therefore for the General Assembly at its twenty-eighth session to appoint a person to complete the unexpired term of Mr. Alwan. The member so appointed will serve from the date of the enabling resolution until 31 December 1974.

5. At previous sessions, the Fifth Committee, after a secret ballot, submitted to the General Assembly a draft resolution containing the names of the persons recommended for appointment. It is suggested that a similar procedure be followed at the twenty-eighth session.