

General Assembly

Distr. GENERAL

A/40/397 21 June 1985

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Fortieth session
Items 27 and 39 of the preliminary list*

INTERNATIONAL YEAR OF PEACE

COMMEMORATION OF THE FORTIETH ANNIVERSARY OF THE UNITED NATIONS

Letter dated 12 June 1985 from the Permanent Representative of the German Democratic Republic to the United Nations addressed to the Secretary-General

On behalf of the Minister for Foreign Affairs of the German Democratic Republic, I should like to inform you that, in accordance with General Assembly decision 39/425 of 17 December 1984 and Assembly resolution 39/10 of 8 November 1984, a National Committee of the German Democratic Republic has been set up to co-ordinate international and national measures for preparing and observing the fortieth anniversary of the United Nations and the International Year of Peace (1986). The Committee, under the chairmanship of the Minister for Foreign Affairs of the German Democratic Republic, Oskar Fischer, includes outstanding representatives of governmental institutions and social organizations (see annex).

At its constituent meeting, held at Berlin on 4 June 1985, the Chairman of the National Committee paid tribute to the United Nations Organization as a universal forum for international dialogue and joint activities to strengthen international security, whose commitment to peace and progress all over the world, to arms limitation and disarmament and to the development of fruitful relations among States, is uncontested.

Proceeding from the historic lessons of the victory won by the Soviet Union and the other States united in the anti-Hitler coalition, Oskar Fischer pointed to the duty of all Member States as laid down in the Charter of the United Nations to do everything in order to save succeeding generations from the scourge of war. He

A/40/50/Rev.1.

A/40/397 English Page 4

Hildegard Kiermeier

Secretary-General of the Commission of the German Democratic Republic for the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization

Kurt Löffler

State Secretary in the Ministry of Culture

Obermedizinalrat (Senior Medical Adviser)
Professor Dr. Werner Ludwig

President of the United Nations Children's Fund National Committee of the German Democratic Republic

Professor Dr. Herbert Meissner

Deputy Secretary-General of the Academy of Sciences of the German Democratic Republic

Harry Ott

Permanent Representative of the German Democratic Republic to the United Nations

Dr. Kurt Ottersberg

Director for International Relations of the State Television Committee of the Council of Ministers of the German Democratic Republic

Günter Pötschke

Director-General of the News Agency of the German Democratic Republic

Achim Reichardt

Secretary-General of the Solidarity Committee of the German Democratic Republic

Werner Rümpel

First Vice-President and Secretary-General of the Peace Council of the German Democratic Republic

Hans Sattler

Head of the Board of Youth Affairs of the Council of Minister of the German Democratic Republic and Chairman of the National Committee of the German Democratic Republic for preparing and observing the International Youth Year, 1985

Professor Dr. Edmund Schwiegershausen

Vice-President of the Society for the Dissemination of Scientific Knowledge (URANIA)

Professor Dr. Rolf Sieber

Rector of the College of Economics "Bruno Leuschner"

Rolf Weissbach

Jochen Willerding

Professor Dr. Harry Wünsche

Deputy Chairman of the State Broadcasting Committee of the Council of Ministers of the German Democratic Republic

Secretary of the Central Council of the Free German Youth

President of the Society for International Law in the German Democratic Republic