UNITED NATIONS GENERAL ASSEMBLY



Distr. GENERAL

A/5465 31 July 1963

ORIGINAL: ENGLISE

Eighteenth session

APPOINTMENTS TO FILL VACANCIES IN THE MEMBERSHIP OF SUBSIDIARY BODIES OF THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY

COMMITTEE ON CONTRIBUTIONS

Note by the Secretary-General

1. The rules of procedure of the General Assembly provide:

"Rule 159

"The General Assembly shall appoint an expert Committee on Contributions, consisting of ten members."

"Rule 160

"The members of the Committee on Contributions, no two of whom shall be nationals of the same State, shall be selected on the basis of broad geographical representation, personal qualifications and experience, and shall serve for a period of three years corresponding to three financial years, as defined in the regulations for the financial administration of the United Nations. Members shall retire by rotation and shall be eligible for reappointment. The General Assembly shall appoint the members of the Committee on Contributions at the regular session immediately preceding the expiration of the term of office of the members, or, in case of vacancies, at the next session."

2. The present membership of the Committee is:

Mr. Raymond T. Bowman (United States of America);

- Mr. Birendra Narayan Chakravarty (India);
- Mr. P.M. Chernyshev (Union of Soviet Socialist Republics);
- Mr. T.W. Cutts (Australia);
- Mr. James Gibson (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland);
- Mr. F. Nouredin Kia (Iran);

Mr. D. Silveira da Mota (Brazil);

/...

A/5465 English Fage 2

Mr. José Pareja (Peru);

Mr. Stanislaw Raczkowski (Poland);

Mr. Maurice Viaud (France).

3. At its fifteenth session, the General Assembly appointed Mr. P.M. Chernyshev, Mr. José Pareja and Mr. Maurice Viaud for a three-year term beginning 1 January 1961 (resolution 1549 (XV) of 18 December 1960); at its seventeenth session it appointed Mr. Birendra Narayan Chakravarty for a one-year term beginning on 1 January 1963 (resolution 1792 B (XVII) of 19 December 1962).

4. Since the terms of office of Mr. Chakravarty, Mr. Chernyshev, Mr. Pareja and Mr. Viaud are due to expire on 31 December 1963, it will be necessary for the General Assembly, at its eighteenth session, to appoint four persons to fill the resulting vacancies. The members thus appointed will serve for a period of three years beginning on 1 January 1964.

5. At previous sessions, the Fifth Committee, after a secret ballot, has submitted to the General Assembly a draft resolution containing the names of the persons recommended for appointment. It is suggested that a similar procedure should be followed at the eighteenth session.
