

## UNITED NATIONS GENERAL ASSEMBLY



Distr: GENERAL

A/3184 6 September 1956

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Eleventh session

APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS OF THE PEACE OBSTRVATION COMMISSION

## Note by the Secretary-General

1. The Peace Observation Commission was established by the General Assembly on 3 November 1950 under resolution 377 (V) entitled "Uniting for peace". The present fourteen members of the Commission, who were appointed by the Assembly for the calendar years 1955 and 1956 under resolution 907 (IX) of 11 December 1954, are the following: China, Czechoslovakia, France, Honduras, India, Iraq, Israel, New Zealand, Pakistan, Sweden, the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, the United States of America and Uruguay.

2. In view of the fact that the terms of office of the present members of the Peace Observation Commission expire on 31 December 1956, the General Assembly will be required at its eleventh session to consider the question of the membership of the Commission.

UN LIBRARY SEP 7 1953 UN/SA COLLECTION