UNITED NATIONS

G E N E R A L A S S E M B L Y



Distr. GENERAL

A/3538 14 February 1957

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Eleventh session

PERMANENT MISSIONS TO THE UNITED NATIONS

Report of the Secretary-General

- 1. The present report is submitted to the General Assembly in pursuance of resolution 257 A (III) of 3 December 1948, which requested the Secretary-General "to submit, at each regular session of the General Assembly, a report on the credentials of the permanent representatives accredited to the United Nations".
- 2. At the date of the present report, seventy-five Member States have set up permanent missions at the seat of the United Nations, viz.:

Afghanistan	Cuba	India
Albania	Czechoslovakia	Indonesia
Argentina	Denmark	Iran
Australia	Dominican Republic	Iraq
Austria	Ecuador	Ireland
Belgium	Egypt	Israel
Bolivia	El Salvador	Italy
Brazil	Ethiopia	Japan
Bulgaria	Finland	Laos
Burma	France	Lebanon
Cambodia	Greece	Liberia
Canada	Guatemala	Mexico
Ceylon	Haiti	Nepal
Chile	Jordan	Netherlands
China	Honduras	New Zealand
Colombia	Hungary	Nicaragua
Costa Rica	Iceland	Norway

Paki stan

Spain

United Kingdom of Great

Panama

Sudan

Britain and Northern Treland

Paraguay

Sweden

Peru

Svria

United States of America

Philippines

Thailand Tunisia

Uruguay

Venezuela

Poland Portugal

Turkev

Yemen

Romania

Union of South Africa

Yugoslavia

Saudi Arabia

Union of Soviet Socialist

Republics

3. Seventy-four of the Member States listed in the preceding paragraph have appointed Permanent Representatives and transmitted to the Secretary-General their credentials in accordance with paragraph 1 of the General Assembly resolution 257 A (III). Lebanon is represented by a Chargé d'affaires, a.i.

4. The following Member States. in the credentials transmitted to the Secretary-General, have authorized their Permanent Representatives to represent them in specified organs of the United Nations:

Afghanistan

Ecuador

France

Philippines

Canada China

El Salvador

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Treland

Colombia

New Zealand

5. The following Member States, in the credentials transmitted to the Secretary-General, have authorized their Permanent Representatives to represent them in all organs of the United Nations:

Albania Australia Austria

Czechos lovakia

Iran

Dominican Republic

Iraq lreland

Belgium

Egypt Finland

Italy

Brazil

Greece

Japan

Bulgaria

Tordan Honduras Laos Nepal

Burma Ceylon

India

Netherlands

A/3538 English Page 3

Nicaragua

Saudi Arabia

Turkey

Norway

Spain

Union of South Africa

Panama

Sudan

United States of America

Peru

Sweden

Uruguay

Poland

Thailand

Venezuela Yugoslavia

Portugal

Tunisia

Romania