A/48 11 February 1946

GENERAL ASSEMBLY

ASSEMBLEE GENERALE

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

COMPOSITION OF THE COMMITTEE ON CONTRIBUTIONS REPORT OF THE FIFTH COMMITTEE TO THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY

Rapporteur: Mr. Th. Aghmides (Greece)

In virtue of Resolution 3 of the resolutions concerning budgetary and financial arrangements now adopted by the General Assembly (see Document A/44), a standing expert Committee on Contributions, of ten members has to be appointed to prepare a detailed scale of apportionment of expenses based on the principles set out in paragraph 13 of Section 2 of Chapter IX of the Preparatory Commission's report, for consideration at the Second Part of the First Session of the General Assembly.

Rule 41 of the same rules lays down that the members of the committee on contributions, no two of whom shall be nationals of the same State, shall be selected on the basis of broad geographical representation, personal qualifications and experience. On this basis the Fifth Committee has the honour to submit for the consideration of the General Assembly the following names:-

- 1. Mr. Paul H. Appleby (U.S.A.)
- 2. Mr. M. Baumont (France)
- 3. Mr. J. P. Bridgen (Australia)
- 4. Dr. Chi Chao-ting (China)
- 5. Mr. Seymour Jacklin (Union of South Africa)
- 6. Sir Cecil Kisch (United Kingdom)
- 7. Mr. Pavle Lukin (Yugoslavia)
- 8. Dr. Martinez Cabanas (Mexico)
- 9. Mr. Nedim el-Pachachi (Iraq)
- 10. Mr. Nicolai V. Orlov (U.S.S.R.)

In the course of the debate in the Fifth Committee, several Delegations expressed the hope that the representation of the five permanent members of the Security Council on this small technical

committee would not be regarded as a precedent for future committees of this type.

Under Supplementary Rule K, as amended in the light of the decision to have ten instead of seven members, the General Assembly should choose four of these members to serve for three years, three for two years and the remaining three to serve for one year. The Fifth Committee has the honour to propose that the following should be chosen for a three year term: -

- 1. Mr. J. P. Bridgen (Australia)
- 2. Mr. Seymour Jacklin (Union of South "frica)
- Dr. Martinez Cabanas (Mexico)
 Mr. Nicolai V. Orlov (U.S.S.R.)

the following for a two year term: -

- 1. Mr. M. Baumont (France)
- 2. Sir Cecil Kisch (U.K.)
- 3. Mr. Nedim el-Pachachi (Iraq)

and the following for a one year term: -

- 1. Mr. Paul H. Appleby (U.S.A.)
- 2. Dr. Chi Chao-ting (China)
- 3. Mr. Pavle Lukin (Yugoslavia)

The Committee accordingly has the honour to submit to the General Assembly the following resolution for adoption -THE CENERAL ASSEMBLY

Declares the following persons to be elected as members of the Committee on Contributions under the terms of reference laid down in Rule 42 of the Provisional Rules of Procedure: -

Mr. Paul H. Appleby

Mr . M. Baumont

Mr. J. P. Bridgen

Dr. Chia Chao-ting

Mr. Seymour Jacklin

Sir Cecil Kisch

Mr. Pavle Lukin

Dr. Martinez Cabanas

Mr. Nedim el-Pachachi

Mr. Nicolai V. Orlov

2. Declares:

Mr. J. P. Bridgen

Mr. Seymour Jacklin

Dr. Martinez Cabanas

Mr. Nicolai V. Orlov

to be elected for a three-year term, and

Mr. M. Baumont Sir Çecil Kisch Mr. Nedim el-Pachachi

to be elected for a two-year term.

- 3. Draws the attention of the Committee to paragraphs 12, 13, and 14 of the report on budgetary and financial arrangements contained in Section 2 of Chapter IX of the Preparatory Commission's Report; and
- 4. Requests the Committee to submit a detailed scale for the apportionment of expenses for consideration at the Second Part of the First Session of the General Assembly.