

UNITED NATIONS

G E N E R A L A S S E M B L Y



Distr. GENERAL

A/3070 5 December 1955

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Tenth session

PERMANENT MISSIONS TO THE UNITED NATIONS

Report of the Secretary-General

1. The present report is submitted to the General Assembly in pursuance of resolution 257 A (III) of 3 December 1948, which requested the Secretary-General "to submit, at each regular session of the General Assembly, a report on the credentials of the permanent representatives accredited to the United Nations".

2. At the date of the present report, fifty-seven Member States have set up permanent missions at the seat of the United Nations, viz.:

Afghanistan	Denmark	Iran
Argentina	Dominican Republic	Iraq
Australia	Ecuador	Israel
Belgium	Egypt	Lebanon
Bolivia	El Salvador	Liberia
Brazil	Ethiopia	Mexico
Burma	France	Netherlands
Canada	Greece	New Zealand
Chile	Guatemala	Nicaragua
China	Haiti	Norway
Colombia	Honduras	Pakistan
Costa Rica	Iceland	Panama
Cuba	India	Paraguay
Czechoslovakia	Indonesia	Peru

Philippines Thailand United States
Poland Turkey of America
Saudi Arabia Union of South Africa Uruguay

Sweden Union of Soviet Socialist

Syria Republics Yemen

United Kingdom of Yugoslavia

Great Britain and

Northern Ireland

3. Fifty-four of the Member States listed in the preceding paragraph have appointed Permanent Representatives and transmitted to the Secretary-General their credentials in accordance with paragraph 1 of General Assembly resolution 257 A (III). Of the remaining three Member States, Egypt has appointed a Permanent Representative a.i., Indonesia has appointed an Acting Permanent Representative and Lebanon is represented by a Chargé d'affaires, a.i.

4. The following Member States, in the credentials transmitted to the Secretary-General, have authorized their Permanent Representatives to represent them in specified organs of the United Nations:

Afghanistan Ecuador New Zealand
Canada El Salvador United Kingdom of
China France Great Britain and
Northern Ireland
Colombia

5. The following Member States, in the credentials transmitted to the Secretary-General, have authorized their Permanent Representatives to represent them in all organs of the United Nations:

Australia India Sweden
Belgium Iran Thailand
Brazil Netherlands Turkey

Burma Wicaragua Union of South Africa

Czechoslovakia Norway United States of America

Dominican Republic Panama Uruguay
Greece Peru Venezuela
Saudi Arabia Yugoslavia

1/ By a letter of 15 November 1955, the Deputy Permanent Representative of the Union of South Africa to the United Nations informed the Secretary-General that the office of the Permanent Delegation of the Union of South Africa to the United Nations would be closed from that date until the end of the current session of the General Assembly.