# UNITED NATIONS



ST/SG/SER.A/278/Add.16 19 August 1997

## PERMANENT MISSIONS TO THE UNITED NATIONS

The information shown below has been received by the Protocol and Liaison Service from Permanent Missions. Inquiries should be addressed to that Service, Room 201, telephone 963-7174, telefax 963-1921.

## **Changes in the Permanent Missions**

Bahrain

Appointment: Mr. Mohammed Saleh Mohammed Saleh Third Secretary

Benin

Appointment: M. Rogatien Biaou Minister Counsellor

Cambodia Departures: M. Tuy Ry First Secretary

> M. Hak Roith Third Secretary

Demoratic Republic of the Congo Deceased: M. Khabouji N'zaji Lukabu Minister Plenipotentiary Deputy Permanent Representative

France

Appointments: M. Jean-Pierre Vuillaume Third Secretary

> M. Alain Gavillet Press Attaché

Departures: M. Jean-Pierre Thebault Counsellor

> M. Bruno Foucher Counsellor

Germany Departure: Mr. Gerd Windischmann Assistant Attaché Mozambique Change of address: Permanent Mission of the Republic of Mozambique to the United Nations 420 East 50th Street New York, N.Y. 10022 Telephone: (212) 644-5965 Nepal Appointment: Mr. Paras Ghimire First Secretary Mrs. Ghimire Niger Departure: M. Abdou Abarry Counsellor Republic of Korea Departure: Mr. Hayong Moon Counsellor Russian Federation Appointment: Mr. Alexey A. Rogov Counsellor Saudi Arabia Appointment: Mr. Mohammed Y. H. Assiri Attaché

Spain Departures:

Sr. Angel Guinea Counsellor Military Aadviser

Sr. Jorge Sánchez Counsellor

Sr. José Díaz Counsellor (Information)

## Sudan

Appointment: H.E. Mr. Mubarak Hussein Rahmtalla Ambassador Deputy Permanent Representative

Ukraine

Appointment: Mr. Oleg V. Polishchuk Attaché Mrs. Maria Polishchuk

## United Kingdom

Appointment: Mr. John Andrew Grainger Counsellor (Legal) Mrs. Grainger

United States of America Appointment: Ms. Marjorie Jackson 415-4417 Adviser

## Yugoslavia

Appointment: Mr. Petar Vico Second Secretary

## Change in name of a country

#### Samoa

With effect from 4 July 1997, the new name for Samoa is:

Independent State of Samoa and Samoa (short form)

## Other movements

The following Permanent Representatives have temporarily left New York:

Côte d'Ivoire

H.E. M. Youssoufou Bamba. During his absence, M. Abéni Honorat Koffi, Counsellor, is acting as Chargé d'affaires a.i.

#### France

H.E. M. Alain Dejammet. During his absence, M. Philippe Thiébaud, First Counsellor, Deputy Permanent Representative, is acting as Chargé d'affaires a.i.

### Guatemala

H.E. Sr. Julio Armando Martini Herrera. During his absence, Sr. Luis Raúl Estévez, Minister, Alternate Permanent Representative, is acting as Chargé d'affaires a.i.

## Iraq

H.E. Mr. Nizar Hamdoon. During his absence, Dr. Saeed H. Hasan, Minister Plenipotentiary, Deputy Permanent Representative, is acting as Chargé d'affaires a.i.

#### Liechtenstein

H.E. Mrs. Claudia Fritsche. During her absence, Mr. Christian Wenaweser, First Secretary, is acting as Chargé d'affaires a.i.

### Romania

H.E. M. Ion Gorita. During his absence, Mme Victoria Sandru, First Secretary, is acting as Chargé d'affaires a.i.

#### Spain

H.E. Sr. Inocencio A. Arias. During his absence, Sr. Arturo Laclaustra, Minister Plenipotentiary, Deputy Permanent Representative, is acting as Chargé d'affaires a.i.

The following Permanent Representatives have returned and resumed their functions:

## Angola

H.E. Mr. Afonso Van Dunem "Mbinda"

Barbados H.E. Mr. Carlston B. Boucher

Chile H.E. Sr. Juan Somavía

Colombia H.E. Sr. Julio Londoño-Paredes

Democratic People's Republic of Korea H.E. Mr. Kim Hyong U

## Fiji

H.E. Mr. Poseci W. Bune

Guyana H.E. Mr. Samuel R. Insanally

Lebanon H.E. Mr. Samir Moubarak

Libyan Arab Jamahiriya H.E. Mr. Abuzed OmarDorda

## Oman

H.E. Mr. Salim Bin Mohammed Al-Khussaiby

## Portugal

H.E. Mr. António Monteiro

### Uruguay

H.E. Sr. Jorge Pérez-Otermin

## Observers\*

Switzerland

H.E. M. Jenö C.A. Staehelin. During his absence, M. Peter Maurer, Minister, Deputy Permanent Observer, is acting as Chargé d'affaires a.i.

Palestine

Dr. M. Nasser Al-Kidwa. During his absence, the following persons will be in charge of the office of the Permanent Observer: until 21 August 1997 Mr. Marwan A. Jilani, Counsellor ; from 22 August to 5 September 1997: Mrs. Somaia S. Barghouti, Counsellor

\*Observers are listed herein for convenience of reference.

Published at Headquarters, New York

97-21628 \* 9721629\*