



Distr.: General 29 June 2016

Original: English

Seventieth session Agenda item 128 International Residual Mechanism for Criminal Tribunals

## Letter dated 3 June 2016 from the Secretary-General addressed to the President of the General Assembly

I have the honour to refer to Security Council resolution 1966 (2010), adopted on 22 December 2010, establishing the International Residual Mechanism for Criminal Tribunals and, in particular, the reappointment of the judges of the Mechanism.

In accordance with the provisions of article 8 of the statute of the Mechanism, which is set out in annex 1 to resolution 1966 (2010), the Mechanism shall have a roster of 25 independent judges, not more than two of whom may be nationals of the same State. Further, article 10, paragraph 3 provides that the judges of the Mechanism shall be elected for a term of four years and shall be eligible for reappointment by the Secretary-General after consultation with the Presidents of the Security Council and of the General Assembly.

On 20 December 2011, the General Assembly elected 25 judges of the Mechanism for a term of four years, with effect from 1 July 2012. One of these judges resigned effective 17 November 2015. Pursuant to article 10, paragraph 2, I appointed his replacement after consultation with the Presidents of the Security Council and of the General Assembly. The term of office of all 25 judges of the Mechanism will expire on 30 June 2016.

I recall that, under paragraph 17 of resolution 1966 (2010), the Security Council decided that the Mechanism would operate for an initial period of four years from the first commencement date referred to in paragraph 1. The Council also decided to review the progress of the work of the Mechanism, including in carrying out the functions assigned to it, before the end of this initial period and every two years thereafter. The Council further decided that the Mechanism would continue to operate for subsequent periods of two years following each such review, unless the Security Council decided otherwise. I note that the Security Council has completed its review of the progress of the work of the Mechanism, as is reflected in resolution 2256 (2015) of 22 December 2015.

By its resolution 2269 (2016), adopted on 29 February 2016, the Security Council decided that, the provisions of article 10, paragraph 3 of the statute of the





Mechanism notwithstanding, the judges of the Mechanism may be appointed or reappointed for a two-year term.

Therefore, I intend to reappoint the 25 judges of the Mechanism, who are listed in the annex enclosed herewith, for a term of two years, with effect from 1 July 2016 until 30 June 2018, which would be in line with the forthcoming period of operation of the Mechanism (see annex).

In accordance with the provisions of article 10, paragraph 3 of the statute of the Mechanism, I look forward to receiving your views on the proposed reappointment of the judges.

(Signed) BAN Ki-moon

## Annex to the letter dated 3 June 2016 from the Secretary-General addressed to the President of the General Assembly

## Roster of judges of the International Residual Mechanism for Criminal Tribunals

- Mr. Carmel A. Agius (Malta)
- Mr. Aydin Sefa Akay (Turkey)
- Mr. Jean-Claude Antonetti (France)
- Ms. Florence Arrey (Cameroon)
- Ms. Solomy Balungi Bossa (Uganda)
- Mr. Ivo Nelson de Caires Batista Rosa (Portugal)
- Mr. José Ricardo de Prada Solaesa (Spain)
- Mr. Ben Emmerson (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland)
- Mr. Christoph Flügge (Germany)
- Ms. Graciela Susana Gatti Santana (Uruguay)
- Mr. Burton Hall (Bahamas)
- Mr. Vagn Prüsse Joensen (Denmark)
- Mr. Gberdao Gustave Kam (Burkina Faso)
- Mr. Liu Daqun (China)
- Mr. Joseph E. Chiondo Masanche (United Republic of Tanzania)
- Mr. Theodor Meron (United States of America)
- Mr. Bakone Justice Moloto (South Africa)
- Mr. Lee G. Muthoga (Kenya)
- Ms. Aminatta Lois Runeni N'gum (Gambia)
- Ms. Prisca Matimba Nyambe (Zambia)
- Mr. Alphons Orie (Netherlands)
- Mr. Seymour Panton (Jamaica)
- Mr. Seon Ki Park (Republic of Korea)
- Mr. Mparany Mamy Richard Rajohnson (Madagascar)
- Mr. William Hussein Sekule (United Republic of Tanzania)