

Distr.: General 27 June 2016 English Original: French

# Letter dated 24 June 2016 from the Secretary-General addressed to the President of the Security Council

I have the honour to refer to your letter dated 9 June 2016 (S/2016/527) in which you took note of my proposal to reappoint the 25 judges of the International Residual Mechanism for Criminal Tribunals.

I have also received a corresponding letter from the President of the General Assembly (see annex I). Accordingly, I am proceeding with the reappointment of all of the judges of the Mechanism.

Pursuant to paragraph 2 of Security Council resolution 2269 (2016), adopted on 29 February 2016, the judges will be reappointed for a two-year term, with effect from 1 July 2016 until 30 June 2018.

I should be grateful if you would bring to the attention of the members of the Security Council the decision to reappoint all of the judges. The present letter contains a list of the judges (see annex II).

(Signed) BAN Ki-moon



16-10846 (E) 280616 280616

Please recycle

## Annex I to the letter dated 24 June 2016 from the Secretary-General addressed to the President of the Security Council

[Original: English]

## Letter dated 17 June 2016 from the President of the General Assembly addressed to the Secretary-General

I have the honour to refer to your letter dated 3 June 2016 concerning the reappointment of the 25 judges of the International Residual Mechanism for Criminal Tribunals (S/2016/526).

In accordance with article 10, paragraph 3, of the statute of the Mechanism, I am pleased to inform you that I concur with the proposed reappointment of the 25 judges listed in the annex to your letter, for a term of two years, with effect from 1 July 2016 until 30 June 2018.

(Signed) Mogens Lykketoft

## Annex II to the letter dated 24 June 2016 from the Secretary-General addressed to the President of the Security Council

[Original: English]

#### Judges of the International Residual Mechanism for Criminal Tribunals

- Mr. Carmel A. Agius (Malta)
- Mr. Aydin Sefa Akay (Turkey)
- Mr. Jean-Claude Antonetti (France)
- Ms. Florence Arrey (Cameroon)
- Ms. Solomy Balungi Bossa (Uganda)
- Mr. Ivo Nelson de Caires Batista Rosa (Portugal)
- Mr. José Ricardo de Prada Solaesa (Spain)
- Mr. Ben Emmerson (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland)
- Mr. Christoph Flügge (Germany)
- Ms. Graciela Susana Gatti Santana (Uruguay)
- Mr. Burton Hall (Bahamas)
- Mr. Vagn Prüsse Joensen (Denmark)
- Mr. Gberdao Gustave Kam (Burkina Faso)
- Mr. Liu Daqun (China)
- Mr. Joseph E. Chiondo Masanche (United Republic of Tanzania)
- Mr. Theodor Meron (United States of America)
- Mr. Bakone Justice Moloto (South Africa)
- Mr. Lee G. Muthoga (Kenya)
- Ms. Aminatta Lois Runeni N'gum (The Gambia)
- Ms. Prisca Matimba Nyambe (Zambia)
- Mr. Alphons Orie (The Netherlands)
- Mr. Seymour Panton (Jamaica)
- Mr. Seon Ki Park (Republic of Korea)
- Mr. Mparany Mamy Richard Rajohnson (Madagascar)
- Mr. William Hussein Sekule (United Republic of Tanzania)