United Nations E/2016/9/Add.5



# **Economic and Social Council**

Distr.: General 2 February 2016

Original: English

2016 session

24 July 2015-27 July 2016 Agenda item 4

Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

# Election of eight members of the Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues from among candidates nominated by Governments and appointment of eight members by the President of the Economic and Social Council

# Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. Pursuant to its resolution 2000/22 and its decision 2016/205, the Economic and Social Council established the Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues as a subsidiary organ of the Council. The Forum consists of 16 members, with all members serving in their personal capacity as independent experts on indigenous issues for a period of three years, with the possibility of re-election or reappointment for one further period. Eight members are to be nominated by Governments and elected by the Council according to a specified pattern set out in decision 2016/205, and eight members are to be appointed by the President of the Council following formal consultation with the Bureau and regional groups through their coordinators on the basis of broad consultations with indigenous organizations.
- 2. In 2016, at its coordination and management meetings, to be held from 4 to 6 April, the Economic and Social Council will be called upon to elect eight members according to the following pattern, as outlined in decision 2016/205.
  - (a) One member from African States;
  - (b) Two members from Asia-Pacific States;
  - (c) One member from Eastern European States;
  - (d) Two members from Latin American and Caribbean States;
  - (e) Two members from Western European and other States.
- 3. The terms of office of the new members of the Permanent Forum would begin on 1 January 2017 and expire on 31 December 2019. The current membership of the Permanent Forum is listed in the annex to the present note.





- 4. In a note verbale dated 8 December 2015, the Secretary-General invited Governments to submit, by 1 January 2016, their nominations for membership in the Permanent Forum. A list of the persons thus nominated is set out below. Biographical information on the candidates will be issued in document E/2016/Add.6.
- 5. The eight members nominated by indigenous organizations and appointed by the President of the Council will be communicated separately to members of the Council.

#### **Nominees**

#### **African States**

Gervais Nzoa<sup>a</sup> (Cameroon)

#### **Asia-Pacific States**

Seyed Mohsen Emadi (Islamic Republic of Iran)

#### **Eastern European States**

Oliver Loode<sup>a</sup> (Estonia) Aisa Mukabenova<sup>a</sup> (Russian Federation)

#### **Latin American and Caribbean States**

Jesus Guadalupe Fuentes Blanco (Mexico) Tarcila Rivera Zea (Peru) Gabriel Muyuy Jacanamejoy (Colombia)

#### Western European and other States

Jens Dahl (Denmark) Brian Keane (United States of America)

**2/3** 16-01370

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>a</sup> Seeking re-election.

# Annex

# **Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues**

(16 members; three-year term)

## Membership from 1 January 2014 to 31 December 2016

### Eight experts elected by the Council

Megan Davis (Australia)\*
Alvaro Esteban Pop Ac (Guatemala)\*
Oliver Loode (Estonia)
Aisa Mukabenova (Russian Federation)
Joseph Goko Mutangah (Kenya)
Gervais Nzoa (Cameroon)
Mohammad Hassani Nejad Pirkhouhi (Islamic Republic of Iran)

### Eight experts appointed by the President of the Council

Raja Devasish Roy (Bangladesh)\*
Dalee Sambo Dorough (United States)\*
Edward John (Canada)\*
Valmaine Toki (New Zealand)\*
Mariam Wallet Abubacrine (Mali)
Kara-kys Arakchaa (Russian Federation)
Joan Carling (Philippines)
Maria Eugenia Choque Quispe (Bolivia)

16-01370

<sup>\*</sup> Currently serving for a second term.