

Distr.: Limited 18 June 2007

Original: English

Thirteenth session Kingston, Jamaica 9-20 July 2007

New members for 2007

Note by the Secretary-General

1. Since the twelfth session of the Assembly, six States have become parties to the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea and therefore new members of the Authority. Those States are Belarus, Lesotho, Moldova, Montenegro, Morocco and Niue.

2. Accordingly, their initial contributions due to the General Administrative Fund, on a pro rata basis where applicable, have been calculated as shown in the table below.

3. The Secretary-General invites the Finance Committee to take into consideration the amounts set out in the table when it makes its recommendation to the Council and to the Assembly as to the initial assessments of these new members States.

New member States	Date of membership	United Nations scale of assessment (percentage)		Adjusted International Seabed Authority scale (percentage)		Contributions	
		2006	2007	2006	2007	2006	2007
Belarus	01/10/06	0.018	0.020	0.025	0.028	253	1 574
Lesotho	01/07/07		0.001		0.010		280
Moldova	06/02/07		0.001		0.010		503
Montenegro	24/11/06	0.001	0.001	0.010	0.010	41	559
Morocco	01/07/07		0.042		0.059		1 653
Niue	12/11/06			0.010	0.010	55	559
Totals						349	5 128

4. In accordance with the Authority's Financial Regulations (regulation 7), contributions from these six countries shall be classed as miscellaneous income.

