United Nations E/2016/9/Add.15



# **Economic and Social Council**

Distr.: General 2 February 2016

Original: English

2016 session

24 July 2015-27 July 2016 Agenda item 4

Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

# **Election of 19 members of the Governing Council of the United Nations Human Settlements Programme**

# Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. Pursuant to General Assembly resolution 56/206, the Economic and Social Council is to elect 19 members of the Governing Council of the United Nations Human Settlements Programme for a four-year term beginning on 1 January 2017 to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2016 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Antigua and Barbuda, Bangladesh, Belarus, Benin, China, Colombia, El Salvador, France, Madagascar, Morocco, Norway, Republic of Korea, Romania, Somalia, Spain, Sri Lanka and Uganda. In addition, the two seats with terms expiring on 31 December 2016 from Western European and other States that remain vacant are to be filled.
- 2. The election will be held at the coordination and management meetings of the Council, from 4 to 6 April 2016.
- 3. In accordance with paragraph 4 of section I.A of Assembly resolution 56/206, the 19 members are to be elected according to the following pattern:
  - (a) Five members from African States;
  - (b) Four members from Asia-Pacific States:
  - (c) Two members from Eastern European States;
  - (d) Three members from Latin American and Caribbean States;
  - (e) Five members from Western European and other States.
- 4. The membership of the Governing Council in 2016 is listed in the annex to the present note.





## Annex

# Governing Council of the United Nations Human Settlements Programme

(58 members; four-year term)

# Membership in 2016

#### Sixteen members from African States

Angola (2019), Benin\* (2016), Chad (2019), Democratic Republic of the Congo (2018), Egypt (2018), Gabon (2018), Ghana (2018), Kenya (2019), Madagascar\* (2016), Morocco\* (2016), Nigeria (2019), Senegal (2018), Somalia\* (2016), South Africa (2019), Uganda\* (2016), Zimbabwe (2018)

#### Thirteen members from Asia-Pacific States

Bahrain (2019), Bangladesh\* (2016), China\* (2016), India (2019), Indonesia (2018), Iran (Islamic Republic of) (2018), Iraq (2018), Japan (2018), Malaysia (2019), Republic of Korea\* (2016), Saudi Arabia (2019), Sri Lanka\* (2016), Turkmenistan (2019)

### Six members from Eastern European States

Belarus\* (2016), Georgia (2019), Romania\* (2016), Russian Federation (2018), Serbia (2019), Slovakia (2018)

### Ten members from Latin American and Caribbean States

Antigua and Barbuda\* (2016), Argentina (2018), Brazil (2019), Chile (2019), Colombia\* (2016), Ecuador (2018), El Salvador\* (2016), Guatemala (2018), Mexico (2019), Uruguay (2018)

#### Thirteen members from Western European and other States<sup>a</sup>

Finland (2018), France\* (2016), Germany (2019), Israel (2019), Norway\* (2016), Spain\* (2016), Sweden (2019), United States of America (2018)

2/2

<sup>\*</sup> Retiring member.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>a</sup> There are five vacancies in this group: two for members whose terms would expire on 31 December 2016, two for members whose terms would expire on 31 December 2018, and one for a member whose term would expire on 31 December 2019, all for terms beginning on the date of election (see Council decision 2015/201 D).