





General Assembly

Distr. GENERAL

A/44/560/Add.1 5 December 1989

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Forty-fourth session Agenda item 17 (a)

APPOINTMENTS TO FILL VACANCIES IN SUBSIDIARY ORGANS AND OTHER APPOINTMENTS

Appointment of memoers of the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions

Report of the Fifth Committee (Part II)

Rapporteur: Mr. Etien NINOV (Bulgaria)

- 1. At its 51st meeting, on 1 December 1989, the Fifth Committee considered a note by the Secretary-General (A/44/101) concerning the vacancies in the membership of the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions that will occur as a result of the expiration of the term of office of six of its members on 31 December 1989. The Fifth Committee also considered a note by the Secretary-General (A/44/101/Add.2) advising the General Assembly of the resignation of a member of the Advisory Committee, requiring the appointment at the forty-fourth session of one person to fill the unexpired portion of the term of office of the member who had resigned, that is, until 31 December 1991.
- 2. The Fifth Committee also had before it a note by the Secretary-General (A/C.5/44/30) containing the names of seven persons nominated by their respective Governments for appointment or reappointment to the Advisory Committee for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 1990, as well as the name of one person nominated by his Government for appointment to the Advisory Committee to fill the unexpired portion of the term of office of the member who had resigned.
- 3. The Fifth Committee decided, by acclamation, to recommend the appointment to the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions, for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 1990, of Mr. Carlos Casap (Bolivia), Mr. Yogesh Kumar Gupta (India), Mr. Tadanori Inomata (Japan) and Mr. Yang Hushan (China), and, for a two-year term of office beginning on 1 January 1990, of Mr. Lawrence O. C. Agubuzu (Nigeria).

4. The Fifth Committee then proceeded to elect by secret ballot two persons from the candidates proposed by States from the Group of Western European and other States. The result of the voting was as follows:

Number of ballot papers: 147

Invalid ballots: 2

Number of valid ballots: 145

Abstentions: None

Number of members voting: 145

Required majority: 73

Number of votes obtained:

Ms. Irmeli Mustonen 101

Mr. Ulrich Kalbitzer 93

Mr. Michel Brochard 76

5. Having obtained the required majority and the highest number of votes, Ms. Irmeli Mustonen (Finland) and Mr. Ulrich Kalbitzer (Federal Republic of Germany) were declared recommended for appointment as members of the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 1990.

RECOMMENDATION OF THE FIFTH COMMITTEE

- 6. The Fifth Committee recommends that the General Assembly should appoint the following persons as members of the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions:
 - (a) For a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 1990:
 - Mr. Carlos Casap
 - Mr. Yogesh Kumar Gupta
 - Mr. Tadanori Inomata
 - Mr. Ulrich Kalbitzer
 - Ms. Irmeli Mustonen
 - Mr. Yang Hushan

(b) For a two-year term of office beginning on 1 January 1990:
Mr. Lawrence O. C. Agubuzu
