

Distr.: General 24 November 2015

Original: English

Seventieth session Agenda item 3 (b) Credentials of representatives to the seventieth session of the General Assembly

Report of the Credentials Committee

Chair: Mr. Jan Kickert (Austria)

1. At its 1st plenary meeting, on 15 September 2015, the General Assembly, in accordance with rule 28 of its rules of procedure, appointed a Credentials Committee for its seventieth session consisting of the following Member States: Argentina, Austria, Barbados, China, Côte d'Ivoire, Kazakhstan, the Russian Federation, South Africa and the United States of America.

2. The Credentials Committee held one meeting, on 24 November 2015.

3. The Permanent Representative of Austria to the United Nations, Jan Kickert, was unanimously elected Chair.

4. The Committee had before it a memorandum by the Secretary-General dated 23 November 2015 concerning the credentials of representatives of Member States to the seventieth session of the General Assembly.

5. As indicated in paragraph 1 of the memorandum by the Secretary-General, formal credentials issued by the Head of State or Government or by the Minister for Foreign Affairs as required by rule 27 of the rules of procedure of the General Assembly had been submitted by the following 117 Member States in respect of their representatives to the seventieth session of the Assembly: Afghanistan, Albania, Andorra, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Bahrain, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Bhutan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Central African Republic, Chile, China, Colombia, Congo, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Denmark, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Egypt, El Salvador, Estonia, Finland, France, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guyana, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Lesotho, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Malawi, Malta, Mexico, Micronesia (Federated States of), Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Myanmar, New Zealand, Norway, Oman, Palau, Panama, Paraguay, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Romania, Russian Federation, Saint Lucia, Samoa, San Marino,





Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Thailand, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Timor-Leste, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Republic of Tanzania, United States of America, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu and Zimbabwe.

6. As indicated in paragraph 2 of the memorandum by the Secretary-General, information concerning the appointment of their representatives to the seventieth session of the General Assembly had been communicated to the Secretary-General, by means of a facsimile communication from the Head of State or Government or the Minister for Foreign Affairs or by means of a letter or note verbale from the Permanent Mission concerned, by the following 76 Member States: Algeria, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Benin, Bolivia (Plurinational State of), Brunei Darussalam, Burundi, Cabo Verde, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Chad, Comoros, Côte d'Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Ecuador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Ghana, Greece, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Honduras, Iraq, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lebanon, Liberia, Libya, Liechtenstein, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Republic of Moldova, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, South Sudan, Swaziland, Tajikistan, Togo, Tonga, Tunisia, Turkey, Uganda, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of), Viet Nam, Yemen and Zambia.

7. The Chair proposed the following draft resolution for adoption by the Committee:

The Credentials Committee,

Having examined the credentials of the representatives to the seventieth session of the General Assembly,

Accepts the credentials of the representatives of the Member States referred to in paragraphs 1 and 2 of the memorandum by the Secretary-General.

8. The draft resolution proposed by the Chair was adopted without a vote.

9. The Chair then proposed that the Committee should recommend to the General Assembly the adoption of a draft resolution entitled "Credentials of representatives to the seventieth session of the General Assembly" (see para. 11). The proposal was adopted without a vote.

10. In the light of the foregoing, the present report is submitted to the General Assembly.

Recommendation of the Credentials Committee

11. The Credentials Committee recommends to the General Assembly the adoption of the following draft resolution:

Credentials of representatives to the seventieth session of the General Assembly

The General Assembly,

Having considered the report of the Credentials Committee¹ and the recommendation contained therein,

Approves the report of the Credentials Committee.¹

¹ A/70/573.