United Nations

ECONOMIC AND SOCIAL COUNCIL

Nations Unies UNRESTRICTED

ECONOMIQUE

ET SOCIAL

CONSEIL

E/CN.1/SR.27 9 June 1947

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

14' 1

ECONOMIC AND EMPLOYMENT COMMISSION

CLOSED SESSION

SUMMARY RECORD OF THE TWENTY-SEVENCE MEETING

SECOND SESSION

Held at Lake Success, New York, on Thursday, 5 June 1947, at 10:30 a.m.

Chairman:

Present:

Mr. A. P. Morozov

(Union of Soviet Socialist

Republics)

Rapporteur:

Mr. I. Lubin

(United States of America)

Members:

*Mr. E. J. R. Heyward (Australia) Mr. F. van Langenhove (Belgium) Mr. J. Nunes Guimaraes (Brazil)

*Mr. L. Kaminsky

(Byelorussian Soviet Socialist

Republic)

*Mr. J. F. Parkinson (Canada) *Mr. P. C. Chang (China) *Mr. C. Blanco (Cuba)

*Mr. L. Radimsky (Czechoslovakia) Mr. J. Rueff (France) Mr. R. K. Nehru (India)

*Mr. P. J. Bjerve (Norway) *Mr. A. Rudzinski (Poland)

Mr. R. L. Hall

(United Kingdom)

Secretariat: Mr. D. Weintraub

(Commission Secretary)

Election of Members of Sub-Commission on Economic Development, Economic Stability and Employment, Agenda Items 3 and 4

The CHAIRMAN called upon Mr. Oscar Schacter of the Legal Department to give his opinion on the matter of alternates on the Sub-Commission.

Mr. SCHACTER (Secretariat) stated that the principle that alternates may substitute for representatives of Member Governments was established in the Resolution of the Economic and Social Council of 28 March. However, the matter

^{*} Alternates for the Second Session

was not clear, for, it was doubtful that this Resolution was intended to apply to Members acting in their individual capacities, as will be the case in the Sub-Commissions of this Commission. The Sub-Commission on Freedom of Information and of the Press, whose Members also serve in their individual capacities, had been faced with the same problem. A Committee of that Sub-Commission decided that the matter should be left legally open and in the interim had decided to allow substitutes to participate with a vote.

Mr. Schacter's opinion was that this Commission was in a similar position and could therefore follow the same procedure in an emergency. He pointed out that the question will be raised by the Secretariat at the next meeting of the Economic and Social Council. As the Sub-Commissions will not be meeting before that time, the necessity for the Commission to determine on a ruling during this session was obviated.

The Commission took note of the fact that the Secretariat proposed to submit this question, which presented a problem common to a number of Sub-Commissions, to the Council for clarification.

Mr. WEINTRAUB (Secretariat) read document E/CN.1/W.15, prepared by the Secretariat on the Rules of Procedure which might be followed, for the election, based on the practice of the Economic and Social Council and on the discussions held by the Commission.

Mr. NEHRU (India) felt that it might be advisable to advance, to a later date, the deadline of 10 June stipulated in paragraph 5 of document E/CN.1/W.15 for the receipt of acceptance replies from the elected candidate in order to ensure sufficient time for the receipt of such replies and he further stated that the candidates proposed by him would serve if elected.

It was agreed to advance the date to 12 June, and/or in the case of communication delays, allow a Member to accept on behalf of his nominee.

The CHAIRMAN asked for the opinions of Members as to whether the document should be formally approved or considered as an internal guide during the voting procedure.

Mr. PARKINSON (Canada) suggested that the document be adopted as a general working arrangement, leaving some leeway for minor changes which might prove to be necessary.

This suggestion was adopted.

The CHAIRMAN appointed the Members from Australia and Czechoslovakia to act as Tellers, and the balloting commenced.

The following candidates for the Sub-Commission on Employment and Economic Stability were elected on the first ballot:

Name	Country
Mr. Leslie Galfried Melville	Australia
Mr. M. Belvin	France
Mr. Ragner Frisch	Norway
Mr. Oscar Lange	Poland
Mr. Alexander Danilov	Union of Soviet Socialist Republics
Mr. R. F. Harrod	United Kingdom
Mr. Winfield Riefler	United States of America

In the election, which followed for Members of the Sub-Commission on Economic Development, only five of the seven Members required were elected on the first ballot.

	Name	Country	
Mr.	Jose N. Guimpraes	Brazil	
Mr.	D. K. Lieu	China	
Mr.	V. K. R. V. Rao	India	
Mr.	Alexander P. Morozov	Union of Soviet Socialist I	Republics
Mr	B Ruml	United States of America	

The following candidates were considered for the second ballot because of a tie between two of the candidates for the fourth place on the second ballot:

Name Country

Mr. J. Jussiant Belgium

Mr. Emanuel Slechta Czechoslovakia

Mr. Louis Armand France

Mr. Victor Urquidi Mexico

Sir John Hunter United Kingdom

With reference to the second ballot, which was then necessary for the election of two more candidates, Mr. Weintraub (Secretariat) drew the attention of the Members to the difficulty involved in listing the candidates on the second ballot. According to paragraph 4 (1) of the Provisional Rules of Procedure, "The voting on the second ballot will be restricted to the unelected candidates obtaining the greatest number of votes in the first ballot, the number of candidates being not more than twice as many as the places remaining to be filled....". The same clause appears in Rule 34 of the Rules of Procedure of the Economic and Social Council, as well as in Rule 84 of the General Assembly Rules of Procedure. There was a tie for the fourth place and the question was whether three or five candidates should be listed.

After some discussion it was decided to obtain legal advice on this question. Mr. SHREIBER of the Legal Department informed the Chairman that no precedent existed for this situation. He advised a strict interpretation of the existing rules of procedure which limits the number of candidates listed on a second ballot to not more than twice as many as the place remaining to be filled. He suggested that the Chairman rule that the first three candidates receiving the highest vote be listed and the Chair could then be challenged.

The CHAIRMAN decided to put the question whether three or five candidates be listed on the second ballot to a vote.

It was decided to limit the number of candidates on the second ballot to three.

Mr. RADIMSKY (Czechoslovakia) said that he preferred not to act as Teller on the second ballot since a candidate of his nationality was involved, and the CHAIRMAN appointed Mr. BJERVE (Norway) as Teller in his place.

Mr. Emanuel Slechta (Czechoslovakia) and Mr. Victor Urquidi (Mexico) were elected on the second ballot.

The elections having been completed, the CHAIRMAN announced that the next meeting would take place at 2:00 p.m., 6 June, at which time the Commission would continue the discussion of Item 5 of the agenda.

The meeting rose at 1:35 p.m.