



## **Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women**

Distr.: General 29 June 2010

Original: English

Meeting of States parties to the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women Sixteenth meeting New York, 28 June 2010

## **Report of the meeting of States parties**

1. The sixteenth meeting of the States parties to the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women was called to order on 28 June 2010 by the Director of the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights, New York office. The Director also made a statement as the representative of the Secretary-General.

2. Following the Director's statement, Mr. Alexander Lomaia, Permanent Representative of Georgia, was elected Chair of the meeting. Bertin Babadoudou (Benin), Sonam Tobgay (Bhutan), Léon Faber (Luxembourg) and Dessima Williams (Grenada) were elected Vice-Chairs. The provisional agenda (CEDAW/SP/2010/1) was adopted.

3. In accordance with article 17, paragraphs 4 and 5, of the Convention, the States parties elected by secret ballot 12 members of the Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women, of whom 7 were current members proposed for re-election. The 7 members were: Meriem Belmihoub-Zerdani (Algeria), Naéla Mohamed Gabr (Egypt), Ruth Halperin-Kaddari (Israel), Yoko Hayashi (Japan), Violeta Neubauer (Slovenia), Pramila Patten (Mauritius) and Dubravka Šimonovic (Croatia). The new members were: Ayse Feride Acar (Turkey), Olinda Bareiro-Bobadilla (Paraguay), Ismat Jahan (Bangladesh), Maria Helena Lopes de Jesus Pires (Timor-Leste) and Patricia Schulz (Switzerland). The list of candidates and their curricula vitae are contained in documents CEDAW/SP/2010/3 and Add.1 and 2.

4. Eight candidates withdrew from the lists contained in the above-mentioned documents prior to the elections, namely, Fadheela Al-Mahroos (Bahrain), Ahmed Al-Mukhaini (Oman), Rafiah Al-Talei (Oman), Mary Shanthi Dairiam (Malaysia), Matau Futho-Letsatsi (Lesotho), Samith Hou (Cambodia), Theodora Oby Nwankwo (Nigeria), Olena Suslova (Ukraine) and Judith Wirth (Hungary).

5. The meeting had before it document CEDAW/SP/2010/2, containing information on declarations, reservations, objections and notifications of withdrawal of reservations relating to the Convention, submitted in accordance with article 28 of the Convention.



