United Nations E/2014/9/Add.11



Economic and Social Council

Distr.: General 13 February 2014

Original: English

2014 session

Item 4 of the provisional agenda*

Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

Election of 20 members of the Governing Council of the United Nations Human Settlements Programme

Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. Pursuant to General Assembly resolution 56/206, the Economic and Social Council is to elect 20 members of the Governing Council of the United Nations Human Settlements Programme for a four-year term beginning on 1 January 2015 to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2014 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Albania, Algeria, Argentina, Central African Republic, Chile, Finland, Gabon, Grenada, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Japan, Mali, Mozambique, Nigeria, Pakistan, Russian Federation, Sweden, Turkey, United States of America and Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of).
- 2. The election will be held at the coordination and management meetings of the Council, from 23 to 25 April 2014.
- 3. In accordance with paragraph 4 of section I.A of Assembly resolution 56/206, the 20 members are to be elected according to the following pattern:
 - (a) Six seats for African States;
 - (b) Four seats for Asia-Pacific States;
 - (c) Two seats for Eastern European States;
 - (d) Four seats for Latin American and Caribbean States;
 - (e) Four seats for Western European and other States.
- 4. The membership of the Governing Council in 2014 is listed in the annex to the present note.

^{*} E/2014/1/Rev.1, annex II.







Annex

Governing Council of the United Nations Human Settlements Programme

(58 members; four-year term)

Membership in 2014

Sixteen members from African States

Algeria* (2014), Benin (2016), Burkina Faso (2015), Central African Republic* (2014), Congo (2015), Gabon* (2014), Lesotho (2015), Madagascar (2016), Mali* (2014), Morocco (2016), Mozambique* (2014), Nigeria* (2014), Somalia (2016), South Africa (2015), Uganda (2016), United Republic of Tanzania (2015)

Thirteen members from Asia-Pacific States

Bahrain (2015), Bangladesh (2016), China (2016), India (2015), Indonesia* (2014), Iran (Islamic Republic of)* (2014), Japan* (2014), Jordan (2015), Pakistan* (2014), Republic of Korea (2016), Saudi Arabia (2015), Sri Lanka (2016), Thailand (2015)

Six members from Eastern European States^a

Albania* (2014), Russian Federation* (2014)

Ten members from Latin American and Caribbean States

Antigua and Barbuda (2016), Argentina* (2014), Brazil (2015), Chile* (2014), Colombia (2016), El Salvador (2016), Grenada* (2014), Haiti (2015), Mexico (2015), Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)* (2014)

Thirteen members from Western European and other States^b

Finland* (2014), France (2016), Germany (2015), Israel (2015), Italy (2015), Norway (2016), Spain (2016), Sweden* (2014), Turkey* (2014), United States of America* (2014)

2/2 14-23692

^{*} Retiring member.

^a There are four vacancies in this group: two for members whose terms would expire on 31 December 2015 and two for members whose terms would expire on 31 December 2016, all for terms beginning on the date of election (see Council decision 2013/201 B).

b There are three vacancies in this group: one for a member whose term would expire on 31 December 2015 and two for members whose terms would expire on 31 December 2016, all for terms beginning on the date of election (see Council decision 2013/201 B).