

Distr.: General 2 December 2013

Original: English

Sixty-eighth session Agenda item 3 (b) Credentials of representatives to the sixty-eighth session of the General Assembly

Report of the Credentials Committee

Chair: Mr. George Wilfred Talbot (Guyana)

1. At its 1st plenary meeting, on 17 September 2013, the General Assembly, in accordance with rule 28 of its rules of procedure, appointed a Credentials Committee for its sixty-eighth session consisting of the following Member States: Belgium, China, Colombia, Gabon, Guyana, the Russian Federation, Singapore, the United Republic of Tanzania and the United States of America.

2. The Credentials Committee held its 1st meeting on 2 December 2013.

3. The Permanent Representative of Guyana, George Wilfred Talbot, was unanimously elected Chair.

4. The Committee had before it a memorandum by the Secretary-General dated 2 December 2013 concerning the credentials of representatives of Member States to the sixty-eighth session of the General Assembly.

5. As indicated in paragraph 1 of the memorandum of the Secretary-General, formal credentials issued by the Head of State or Government or by the Minister for Foreign Affairs as required by rule 27 of the rules of procedure of the General Assembly had been submitted by the following 131 Member States in respect of their representatives to the sixty-eighth session of the General Assembly: Algeria, Andorra, Angola, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Australia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Bhutan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Chad, Chile, China, Colombia, Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, Croatia, Czech Republic, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Estonia, Ethiopia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kuwait, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Malaysia, Mali, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Panama, Papua







New Guinea, Paraguay, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Romania, Russian Federation, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Serbia, Singapore, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sudan, Sweden, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Republic of Tanzania, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of), Yemen, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

As indicated in paragraph 2 of the memorandum of the Secretary-General, 6. information concerning the appointment of their representatives to the sixty-eighth session of the General Assembly had been communicated to the Secretary-General, by means of a facsimile communication from the Head of State or Government or the Minister for Foreign Affairs or by means of a letter or note verbale from the Permanent Mission concerned, by the following 62 Member States: Afghanistan, Albania, Antigua and Barbuda, Bangladesh, Belize, Benin, Bolivia (Plurinational State of), Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Cabo Verde, Central African Republic, Comoros, Costa Rica, Cuba, Cyprus, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Greece, India, Iraq, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kyrgyzstan, Malawi, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Micronesia (Federated States of), Morocco, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Palau, Peru, Republic of Moldova, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Swaziland, Tajikistan, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu and Viet Nam.

7. The Chair proposed the following draft resolution for adoption by the Committee:

The Credentials Committee,

Having examined the credentials of the representatives to the sixty-eighth session of the General Assembly of the Member States referred to in paragraphs 5 and 6 of the report of the Credentials Committee,

Accepts the credentials of the representatives of the Member States concerned.

8. The draft resolution proposed by the Chair was adopted without a vote.

9. The Chair then proposed that the Committee should recommend to the General Assembly the adoption of a draft resolution entitled "Credentials of representatives to the sixty-eighth session of the General Assembly" (see para. 11). The proposal was adopted without a vote.

10. In the light of the foregoing, the present report is submitted to the General Assembly.

Recommendation of the Credentials Committee

11. The Credentials Committee recommends to the General Assembly the adoption of the following draft resolution:

Credentials of representatives to the sixty-eighth session of the General Assembly

The General Assembly,

Having considered the report of the Credentials Committee and the recommendation contained therein,

Approves the report of the Credentials Committee.