United Nations A/C.4/68/SR.1



Distr.: General 9 October 2013

Original: English

## **Special Political and Decolonization Committee** (Fourth Committee)

## Summary record of the 1st meeting

Held at Headquarters, New York, on Tuesday, 1 October 2013, at 3 p.m.

Temporary Chair: Mr. Ashe (President of the General Assembly) . . . (Antigua and Barbuda)

## Contents

Agenda item 5: Election of the officers of the Main Committees

This record is subject to correction. Corrections should be sent as soon as possible, under the signature of a member of the delegation concerned, to the Chief of the Documents Control Unit (srcorrections@un.org), and incorporated in a copy of the record.

Corrected records will be reissued electronically on the Official Document System of the United Nations (http://documents.un.org/).





The meeting was called to order at 3.15 p.m.

## Agenda item 5: Election of the officers of the Main Committees

- 1. **The Temporary Chair** said that, in accordance with rule 99 (a) of the rules of procedure, the meeting had been convened for the purpose of electing the Chair and other members of the Bureau of the Committee for the sixty-eighth session of the General Assembly.
- 2. Mr. García González (El Salvador) had been nominated by the Latin American and Caribbean States for the office of Chair. In the absence of further nominations, and in accordance with rule 103 of the rules of procedure, he would take it that the Committee wished to elect Mr. García González (El Salvador) Chair.
- 3. Mr. García González (El Salvador) was elected Chair by acclamation.
- 4. **Mr. García González** (El Salvador) assured the Committee that he was ready to work with all groups, States and stakeholders concerned with its endeavours.
- 5. **The Temporary Chair** said that Mr. Motanyane (Lesotho), Ms. Rafti (Cyprus) and Mr. Santillo (Italy) had been nominated by the African States, the Asia-Pacific States and the Western European and other States, respectively, for the office of Vice-Chair.
- 6. Mr. Motanyane (Lesotho), Ms. Rafti (Cyprus) and Mr. Santillo (Italy) were elected Vice-Chairs by acclamation.
- 7. **The Temporary Chair** said that the election of the Rapporteur would be held at a later date.

The meeting rose at 3.25 p.m.

2/2