

Distr.: General 19 August 2013

Original: English

Letter dated 16 August 2013 from the Secretary-General addressed to the President of the Security Council

I have the honour to refer to Security Council resolution 2111 (2013), adopted by the Council on 24 July 2013. In paragraph 27 of the resolution, the Council requested the Secretary-General to re-establish the Monitoring Group on Somalia and Eritrea, consisting of eight experts, for a period of 16 months, drawing, as appropriate, on the expertise of the members of the Monitoring Group established pursuant to resolutions 2060 (2012), 2002 (2011), and 1916 (2010), and consistent with resolution 1907 (2009), in order to fulfil its mandate.

Accordingly, I wish to inform you that, after consulting with the Security Council Committee pursuant to resolutions 751 (1992) and 1907 (2009) concerning Somalia and Eritrea, I have appointed the following experts:

Somalia

Ms. Déirdre Clancy, Ireland (humanitarian expert)

Mr. Dinesh Mahtani, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (finance expert)

Mr. Jörg Roofthooft, Belgium (transport/maritime expert)

Mr. Babatunde Taiwo, Nigeria (arms expert)

Eritrea

Mr. Nicholas Argeros, United States of America (finance expert)

Ms. Zeina Awad, Lebanon (transport expert)

Mr. Cornelis Steenken, Netherlands (arms expert)

I have also designated Mr. Jarat Chopra, Canada (regional expert), to serve as Coordinator of the Monitoring Group.

I should be grateful if you would bring this matter to the attention of the members of the Security Council.

(Signed) BAN Ki-moon





Please recycle