## United Nations GENERAL ASSEMBLY

TWENTY-EIGHTH SESSION

### **Official** Records

### CONTENTS

	Page
Agenda item 5: Constitution of the Main Committees and election of officers	1
Agenda item 6: Election of the Vice-Presidents	1

President: Mr. Leopoldo BENITES (Ecuador).

### **AGENDA ITEM 5**

# Constitution of the Main Committees and election of officers

1. The PRESIDENT (interpretation from Spanish): The following representatives have been elected Chairmen of the seven Main Committees of the General Assembly and are accordingly members of the General Committee for the twenty-eighth session:

First Committee: Mr. Otto R. Borch (Denmark);

- Special Political Committee: Mr. Károly Szarka (Hungary);
- Second Committee: Mr. Zewde Gabre-Sellassie (Ethiopia);

Third Committee: Mr. Yahya Mahmassani (Lebanon);

- Fourth Committee: Mr. Leonardo Díaz González (Venezuela);
- Fifth Committee: Mr. Conrad S. M. Mselle (United Republic of Tanzania);

Sixth Committee: Mr. Sergio González Gálvez (Mexico).

### **AGENDA ITEM 6**

### **Election of the Vice-Presidents**

2. The PRESIDENT (interpretation from Spanish): Pursuant to rule 31 of the rules of procedure, we shall now proceed to the election of 17 Vice-Presidents of the General Assembly, who are to be chosen in such a manner as to ensure the representative character of the General Committee. All States Members of the General Assembly are eligible in this election except those already represented in the General Committee-namely, those countries whose representatives have been elected to the presidency of the General Assembly or to the chairmanship of one of the Main Committees.

3. Furthermore, under resolution 1990 (XVIII), the election of the President has the effect of reducing by one the number of Vice-Presidents allocated to the region from which the President has been elected. Therefore, only two representatives from Latin American States, that is, from

# Group C, as indicated in paragraph 3 of foot-note 14 to rule 31 of the rules of procedure, may be elected Vice-Presidents.

4. Five ballot papers are now being distributed. The back of each ballot paper is marked with the letter A, B, C, D or E, corresponding to the five groups of States. The number of Vice-Presidents to be elected is indicated on each ballot paper as follows:

- Group A: Seven representatives from African and Asian States;
- Group B: One representative from an Eastern European State;
- Group C: Two representatives from Latin American States;
- Group D: Two representatives from Western European and other States;
- Group E: Five representatives from the permanent members of the Security Council.

5. Will representatives be kind enough to write on each ballot paper the names of the Member States for which they wish to vote and not the names of those countries' representatives? Any ballot paper containing more names than are assigned to that group will be declared invalid. Those Member States receiving a majority of the votes cast will be declared elected. We shall now proceed to the vote.

At the invitation of the President, Mr. Bellizzi (Malta), Mrs. Joka-Bangura (Sierra Leone), Mr. Rattanasamay (Laos), Mr. Bonnick (Jamaica) and Mr. Udovenko (Ukrainian Soviet Socialist Republic) acted as tellers.

A vote was taken by secret ballot.

6. The PRESIDENT (interpretation from Spanish): As the counting of the ballots will take some time, I propose that we suspend the meeting while the tellers count the votes.

The meeting was suspended at 9.50 p.m. and resumed at 10.45 p.m.

7. The PRESIDENT (interpretation from Spanish): The results of the election for the Vice-Presidents of the Assembly are as follows:

Group A: African and Asian States

Number of ballot papers:	127
Invalid ballots:	0
Number of valid ballots:	127
Abstentions:	0
Number of members voting:	127
Required majority:	64

### 2121st PLENARY MEETING

Wednesday, 19 September 1973, at 9.20 p.m.

Number of votes obtained:
Cameroon
Ghana
Fiji
Sri Lanka
Tunisia
Uganda
United Arab Emirates
Japan
Egypt 1
India
Indonesia 1
Kenya 1
Madagascar
Maldives
Nigeria
Pakistan
Sierra Leone 1
Swaziland

#### Group B: Eastern European States

Number of ballot papers:	127
Invalid ballots:	1
Number of valid ballots:	126
Abstentions:	5
Number of members voting:	121
Required majority:	61

### Number of votes obtained:

Czechoslovakia	. 117
Poland	2
Romania	. 1
Yugoslavia	. 1

### Group C: Latin American States

Number of ballot papers:	127
Invalid ballots:	0
Number of valid ballots:	127
Abstentions:	1
Number of members voting:	126
Required majority:	64

### Number of votes obtained:

Guyana	
Honduras	
Chile 2	
Peru 2	
Argentina 1	
Brazil	
Costa Rica 1	
Cuba	

Group D: Western European and other States

Number of ballot papers:	127
Invalid ballots:	1
Number of valid ballots:	126
Abstentions:	1
Number of members voting:	125
Required majority:	63
Number of votes obtained:	
Spain	. 120
Netherlands	
Belgium	. 2
Sweden	. 2
Malta	. 1
Turkey	. 1

Group E: Permanent members of the Security Council

Number of ballot papers:	127
Invalid ballots:	0
Number of valid ballots:	127
Abstentions:	3
Number of members voting:	124
Required majority:	63
Number of votes obtained:	
France France	119
China	118
United Kingdom of Great Britain and North	ern
Ireland	117
United States of America	114
Union of Soviet Socialist Republics	

Having obtained the required majority, the representatives of the following Member States, were elected Vice-Presidents of the General Assembly: Cameroon, China, Czechoslovakia, Fiji, France, Ghana, Guyana, Honduras, Netherlands, Spain, Sri Lanka, Tunisia, Uganda, Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America.

8. The PRESIDENT (interpretation from Spanish): I should like to thank the tellers for their assistance in this election and to congratulate those who have been elected.

9. The General Committee for the twenty-eighth session of the General Assembly has now been fully constituted in accordance with rule 38 of the rules of procedure.

The meeting rose at 10.55 p.m.