

UNITED NATIONS GENERAL ASSEMBLY



Distr. GENERAL

A/2926 2 August 1955

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Tenth session

APPOINTMENTS TO FILL VACANCIES IN THE MEMBERSHIP OF SUBSIDIARY BODIES OF THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY

COMMITTEE ON CONTRIBUTIONS

Note by the Secretary-General

1. The rules of procedure of the General Assembly $\frac{1}{2}$ provide that:

"Rule 160

"The members of the Committee on Contributions, no two of whom shall be nationals of the same State, shall be selected on the basis of broad geographical representation, personal qualifications and experience, and shall serve for a period of three years corresponding to three financial years, as defined in the regulations for the financial administration of the United Nations. Members shall retire by rotation and shall be eligible for reappointment. The General Assembly shall appoint the members of the Committee on Contributions at the regular session immediately preceding the expiration of the term of office of the members, or, in the case of vacancies, at the next session."

- 2. The present membership of the Committee is as follows:
 - Mr. K.E. Böök (Sweden);
 - Mr. S.M. Burke (Pakistan);
 - Mr. René Charron (France);
 - Mr. A.H. Clough (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland);
 - Mr. Arthur Samuel Lall (India);
 - Mr. Jiri Nosek (Czechoslovakia);

55-19526

^{1/} See revised edition, A/520/Rev.3, dated July 1954.

A/2926 English Page 2

Mr. Stuart Arthur Rice (United States of America);

Mr. Josué Saenz (Mexico);

Mr. G.F. Saksin (Union of Soviet Socialist Republics);

Mr. O. Strauch (Brazil).

3. The following members of the Committee on Contributions were appointed by the General Assembly at its seventh session (resolution 667 (VII)) for a three-year term commencing 1 January 1953:

Mr. S.M. Burke;

Mr. Jiri Nosek;

Mr. S.A. Rice.

- 4. Since the terms of office of the above members are due to expire on 31 December 1955, it will be necessary for the General Assembly, at its tenth session in 1955, to appoint three persons to fill the resulting vacancies. The members thus appointed will serve for a period of three years, commencing 1 January 1956.
- 5. At previous sessions, the Fifth Committee, after a secret ballot, has submitted to the General Assembly a draft resolution containing the names of the persons recommended for appointment. With a view to expediting the business of the General Assembly, it is suggested that a similar procedure should be followed at the tenth session.