

Distr.: General 13 February 2013

Original: English

Resumed organizational session for 2013 25 and 26 April 2013 Agenda item 4 Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

# Election of eight members of the Programme Coordinating Board of the Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS

## Note by the Secretary-General

1. The Programme Coordinating Board of the Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS (UNAIDS) has 22 members. In accordance with its decision 1995/223, the Economic and Social Council, at its resumed organizational session for 2013, is to elect, from among States Members of the United Nations and observer States, eight members of the Programme Coordinating Board for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2014 to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2013 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Bangladesh, Djibouti, Egypt, Germany, India, Mexico, Russian Federation and United States of America.

- 2. The eight members are to be elected according to the following pattern:
  - (a) Two members from African States;
  - (b) Two members from Asia-Pacific States;
  - (c) One member from Eastern European States;
  - (d) One member from Latin American and Caribbean States;
  - (e) Two members from Western European and other States.

3. The membership of the Programme Coordinating Board in 2013 is listed in the annex to the present note.





Please recycle

## Annex

## Programme Coordinating Board of the Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS (22 members; three-year term)

## Membership in 2013

#### **Five members from African States**

Congo (2014), Djibouti\* (2013), Egypt\* (2013), Sierra Leone (2015), Zimbabwe (2015)

## Five members from Asia-Pacific States

Bangladesh\* (2013), China (2015), India\* (2013), Iran (Islamic Republic of) (2014), Japan (2015)

#### Two members from Eastern European States

Poland (2015), Russian Federation\* (2013)

#### Three members from Latin American and Caribbean States

Brazil (2014), Guyana (2015), Mexico\* (2013)

### Seven members from Western European and other States

Australia<sup>a</sup> (2014), Belgium (2015), Germany<sup>\*</sup> (2013), Norway (2014), Switzerland (2015), United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (2015), United States of America<sup>\*</sup> (2013)

<sup>\*</sup> Retiring member.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>a</sup> Replaced Canada as of 1 January 2013.