United Nations

GENERAL ASSEMBLY

TWENTY-FIRST SESSION

Official Records



1460th PLENARY MEETING

Thursday, 10 November 1966, at 3 p.m.

NEW YORK

CONTENTS

| | Pag |
|--|-----|
| Agenda item 19: | |
| Election of the members of the International | |
| Law Commission | |
| | |

President: Mr. Abdul Rahman PAZHWAK (Afghanistan).

AGENDA ITEM 19

Election of the members of the International Law
Commission

- 1. The PRESIDENT: This afternoon the Assembly will proceed to the election of the twenty-five members of the International Law Commission for a period of five years, with effect from 1 January 1967. In this connexion, I should like to draw the attention of the members of the Assembly to a preliminary matter. While the Statute of the Commission provides that the names of candidates are to be submitted to the Secretary-General by 1 June of the year in which an election is held, it has not been the practice in the past to enforce this deadline. This year, in addition to the original request to Governments to submit the names of candidates, the Secretary-General also sent a cable to Governments which had not replied by 17 May 1966, recalling his previous request.
- 2. The list of candidates received by 1 June was circulated by the Secretary-General [A/6359]. A nomination received on 24 June 1966 was circulated later [A/6361]. As the deadline for nominations has not been enforced in the past, and on the clear understanding that it will be complied with in the future, I thought the Assembly might wish to have the name of Mr. Matine-Daftary included in the ballot papers to be distributed shortly. Therefore, I have instructed the Secretariat to prepare two sets of ballot papers, one including, and the other not including, the name of Mr. Matine-Daftary. It is for the Assembly to decide which set of ballot papers will be distributed.
- 3. If there are no objections, I shall take it that the Assembly agrees to the distribution of the ballot papers including the name of Mr. Matine-Daftary.

It was so decided.

- 4. The PRESIDENT: May I invite the attention of members of the Assembly to the other documents relating to this item [A/6359/Add.1 to 4, A/6360 and Corr.1 and 4, A/6361/Add.1 and A/6362].
- 5. Representatives are reminded that the persons to be elected to the Commission should individually

possess the qualifications required, that is to say they should be "persons of recognized competence in international law", and that "in the Commission as a whole, representation of the main forms of civilization and of the principal legal systems of the world should be assured".

- 6. In accordance with rule 94 of the rules of procedure of the General Assembly, the election will be held by secret ballot.
- 7. I have been informed that three candidatures have been withdrawn. I have received this information from the delegations of the countries from which these candidates come: the delegation of Spain has informed me that Mr. Antonio de Luna is no longer a candidate, and I have been asked to announce that the candidatures of Mr. Steplian Verosta of Austria and Mr. Paul Bamela Engo of Cameroon have also been withdrawn. Their names will not, therefore, appear on the ballot papers.
- 8. The ballot papers will now be distributed. Only those candidates whose names appear on the ballot papers are eligible for election. No two members of the Commission may be nationals of the same State, and members of the Assembly may vote for a maximum of twenty-five candidates by placing a cross on the left of the names of the candidates for whom they wish to vote. Any ballot paper on which a mark has been placed against the names of more than twenty-five candidates will be declared invalid.
- 9. I should also like to inform members of the General Assembly that I have just received information that the candidature of Mr. Berthan Macaulay of Sierra Leone has also been withdrawn. Since the ballots have already been distributed, I ask your co-operation in striking out the name of the Sierra Leone candiate.

At the invitation of the President, Mr. Chilie (Romania) and Mr. Warsama (Somalia) acted as tellers.

A vote was taken by secret ballot.

| Number of ballot papers: Invalid ballots: Number of valid ballots: Number of members voting: Required majority: | 119 0 119 119 60 |
|--|------------------------------|
| Number of votes obtained: Mr. Gilberto Amado (Brazil) Mr. Jorge Castañeda (Mexico) Mr. José María Ruda (Argentina) Mr. Taslim O. Elias (Nigeria) | 113 112 112 108 |
| Mr. N. A. Ushakov (Union of Soviet Socialist Republics) | 108 |

| Mr. Abdullah El-Erian (United Arab | | Mr. Paul Malekou (Gabon) 11 |
|---------------------------------------|-----|---|
| Republic) | 107 | Mr. Alejandro Montiel Arguello (Nica- |
| Mr. Louis Ignacio-Pinto (Dahomey) | 106 | ragua) 8 |
| Mr. Eduardo Jiménez de Aréchaga | | Mrs. Olga Nuñez de Saballos (Nicara- |
| (Uruguay) | 106 | gua) 6 |
| Mr. Milan Bartos (Yugoslavia) | 103 | |
| Mr. Senjin Tsuruoka (Japan) | 103 | Having obtained the required majority, the following |
| Mr. Fernando Albónico (Chile) | 102 | twenty-five persons were elected members of the |
| Mr. Paul Reuter (France) | 100 | International Law Commission: Mr. Ago (Italy), Mr. |
| Mr. Roberto Ago (Italy) | 99 | Albónico (Chile), Mr. Amado (Brazil), Mr. Bartos |
| Mr. Mohammed Bedjaoui (Algeria) | 99 | (Yugoslavia), Mr. Bedjaoui (Algeria), Mr. Castañeda |
| Mr. Nagendra Singh (India) | 97 | (Mexico), Mr. Castrén (Finland), Mr. El-Erian (United |
| Mr. Endre Ustor (Hungary) | 97 | Arab Republic), Mr. Elias (Nigeria), Mr. Eustathiades |
| Mr. Erik Castrén (Finland) | 95 | (Greece), Mr. Ignacio-Pinto (Dahomey), Mr. Jiménez |
| Mr. Richard D. Kearney (United States | | de Aréchaga (Uruguay), Mr. Kearney (United States |
| of America) | 95 | of America), Mr. Ramangasoavina (Madagascar), Mr. |
| Mr. Mustafa Kamil Yasseen (Iraq) | 94 | Reuter (France), Mr. Rosenne (Israel), Mr. Ruda |
| Sir Humphrey Waldock (United Kingdom) | 92 | (Argentina), Mr. Singh (India), Mr. Tabibi (Afghanis- |
| Mr. Constantine Th. Eustathiades | | tan), Mr. Tammes (Netherlands), Mr. Tsuruoka |
| (Greece) | 90 | (Japan), Mr. Ushakov (USSR), Mr. Ustor (Hungary), |
| Mr. Abdul Hakim Tabibi (Afghanistan). | 82 | Mr. Yasseen (Iraq) and Sir Humphrey Waldock (United |
| Mr. A.J.P. Tammes (Netherlands) | 80 | Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland). |
| Mr. Alfred Ramangasoavina (Madagas- | | 10. The PRESIDENT: On behalf of the General As- |
| car), | 74 | sembly, I wish to congratulate all those who were |
| Mr. Shabtai Rosenne (Israel) | 74 | elected members of the International Law Commis- |
| Mr. Radhakrishna Ramani (Malaysia) | 59 | sion. I should also like to thank the representatives |
| Mr. Seha L. Meray (Turkey) | 58 | who acted as tellers. |
| Mr. Konthi Suphamongkhon (Thailand). | 41 | |
| Mr. Ahmad Matine-Daftary (Iran) | 38 | |
| Mr. Angel M. Paredes (Ecuador) | 24 | The meeting rose at 5.15 p.m. |