

Distr.: General 23 April 2012

Original: English

## Letter dated 20 April 2012 from the Secretary-General addressed to the President of the Security Council

I have the honour to refer to Security Council resolution 2035 (2012) concerning the Sudan, adopted on 17 February 2012, by which the Security Council decided to extend until 17 February 2013 the mandate of the Panel of Experts originally appointed pursuant to resolution 1591 (2005) and previously extended by resolutions 1651 (2005), 1665 (2006), 1713 (2006), 1779 (2007), 1841 (2008), 1891 (2009), 1945 (2010) and 1982 (2011), and requested me to take the necessary administrative measures.

Accordingly, I wish to inform you that I have appointed the following experts to serve on the Panel of Experts:

Ms. Lipika Majumdar Roy Choudhury, India (finance)

Mr. Brian Johnson-Thomas, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (arms)

Mr. Issa Maraut, France (regional)

Mr. Mohammed Al-Omari, Jordan (aviation)

Ms. Rania El-Rajji, Lebanon (international humanitarian law).

I have also designated Ms. Roy Choudhury to serve as Coordinator of the Panel of Experts.

I should be grateful if you would bring this information to the attention of the members of the Security Council.

(Signed) BAN Ki-moon



