

Distr.: General 7 February 2012

Original: English

Resumed organizational session for 2012 26 and 27 April 2012 Agenda item 4 Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

# Election of 14 members of the Executive Board of the United Nations Development Programme/United Nations Population Fund/United Nations Office for Project Services

# Note by the Secretary-General

1. The Executive Board of the United Nations Development Programme/United Nations Population Fund/United Nations Office for Project Services has 36 members, elected with due regard to equitable geographical representation and other relevant factors, with a view to ensuring the most effective and broadest representation.

2. In accordance with General Assembly resolution 48/162, the Economic and Social Council is to elect, at its resumed organizational session for 2012, 14 members of the Executive Board from among States Members of the United Nations or members of the specialized agencies or of the International Atomic Energy Agency, for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2013, to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2012 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Antigua and Barbuda, Australia, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Estonia, India, Italy, Japan, Pakistan, Qatar, Rwanda, South Africa and Switzerland.

- 3. The 14 members are to be elected according to the following pattern:
  - (a) Five members from African States;
  - (b) Three members from Asia-Pacific States;
  - (c) One member from Eastern European States;
  - (d) One member from Latin American and Caribbean States;
  - (e) Four members from Western European and other States.

4. The membership of the Executive Board in 2012 is listed in the annex to the present note.





# Annex

# Executive Board of the United Nations Development Programme/United Nations Population Fund/United Nations Office for Project Services (36 members; three-year term)

# Membership in 2012

#### **Eight members from African States**

Burkina Faso\* (2012), Cameroon\* (2012), Democratic Republic of the Congo\* (2012), Djibouti (2013), Liberia (2014), Morocco (2014), Rwanda\* (2012), South Africa\* (2012)

#### Seven members from Asia-Pacific States

Bangladesh (2013), China (2013), India\* (2012), Indonesia (2014), Pakistan\* (2012), Qatar\* (2012), Republic of Korea (2014)

# Four members from Eastern European States

Belarus (2013), Czech Republic (2013), Estonia\* (2012), Russian Federation (2014)

# Five members from Latin American and Caribbean States

Antigua and Barbuda\* (2012), Argentina (2013), Brazil (2014), El Salvador (2013), Nicaragua (2014)

# Twelve members from Western European and other States

Australia\* (2012), Canada (2013), Denmark (2014), Greece (2014), Israel (2014), Italy\* (2012), Japan\* (2012), Luxembourg (2013), Norway (2013), Sweden (2014), Switzerland\* (2012), United States of America (2013)

\_\_\_\_\_

2

<sup>\*</sup> Retiring member.