Seventh Review Conference of the States Parties to the Convention on the Prohibition of the Development, Production and Stockpiling of Bacteriological (Biological) and Toxin Weapons and on Their Destruction

22 December 2011

Original: English

Geneva, 5–22 December 2011 Item 7 (b) of the agenda Credentials of representatives to the Conference Report of the Credentials Committee

Report of the Credentials Committee

Submitted by the Chair of the Credentials Committee

I. Overview

- 1. Rule 3 of Rules of Procedure of the Seventh Review Conference of the States Parties to the Convention on the Prohibition of the Development, Production and Stockpiling of Bacteriological (Biological) and Toxin Weapons and on Their Destruction provides that "The Conference shall establish a Credentials Committee composed of the Chairman, one Vice-Chairman elected in accordance with Rule 5, and five members appointed by the Conference on the proposal of the President. The Committee shall examine the credentials of representatives and report to the Conference without delay."
- 2. On 5 December 2011, in accordance with Rule 5 of the Rules of Procedure, the Conference unanimously elected Mr. Mario Duarte (Portugal) as Chairman of the Credentials Committee and Mr. Vipul (India) as Vice-Chairman of the Committee. Ms. Ngoc Phuong Huynh, Associate Political Affairs Officer of the Implementation Support Unit to the Biological Weapons Convention, served as Secretary of the Committee.
- 3. On 5 December 2011, in accordance with the above-mentioned Rule, the Conference acting on the proposal of the President appointed the following countries as members of the Credentials Committee: Colombia, Ireland, Italy, Malaysia and Serbia.
- 4. Rule 2 of the Rules of Procedure provides that: "The credentials of representatives and the names of alternate representatives and advisors shall be submitted to the Secretary-General of the Conference, if possible not less than one week before the date fixed for the opening of the Conference. Credentials shall be issued either by the Head of the State or Government or by the Minister for Foreign Affairs."
- 5. The Committee held its first meeting on 9 December 2011 to examine the credentials received as of that date.
- 6. Noting the information received, the Committee decided to hold its second meeting on 14 December 2011 to examine the additional credentials received as of that date and decided to publish the list of States Parties that have submitted the credentials during the Committee of the Whole that was held that day.



- 7. The Committee held its third meeting on 21 December 2011 to examine the credentials received as of that date. Having examined the documentation received from States Parties to the Convention, the Committee noted that as of 21 December 2011:
- (a) Formal credentials in due form, as provided for by Rule 2 of the Rules of Procedure, had been communicated to the Secretary-General of the Conference for representatives from the following 71 States Parties: Algeria, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burundi, Canada, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Holy See, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Iraq, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Madagascar, Malaysia, Mexico, Morocco, Mozambique, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Pakistan, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Russian Federation, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and United States of America;
- (b) Copies of credentials of the representatives of the following 16 States Parties had been communicated to the Secretary-General of the Conference: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bhutan, Chile, Ethiopia, Georgia, Ghana, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Lebanon, Philippines, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Senegal, South Africa, Uganda and Uruguay;
- (c) The Designation of the representatives of the following 17 States Parties had been communicated to the Secretary-General of the Conference by notes verbales or letters from their Permanent Missions in Geneva: Afghanistan, Albania, Bangladesh, Brunei Darussalam, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Dominican Republic, Jordan, Kenya, Lesotho, Libya, Mongolia, Nigeria, Saudi Arabia, Tajikistan, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Venezuela and Yemen.
- 8. At its third meeting on 21 December 2011, on the proposal of the Chairman, the Committee agreed to accept the credentials of all the participating States Parties referred to in paragraph 7 (a), (b) and (c) above, on the understanding that the originals of the credentials of the representatives of those States referred to in paragraph 7 (b) and (c) would be submitted as soon as possible, in accordance with Rule 2 of the Rules of Procedure.
- 9. At its third meeting, on 21 December 2011, the Committee unanimously adopted its report to the Conference.

II. Draft Resolution

10. The Credentials Committee recommends to the Conference the adoption of the following draft resolution:

Draft Resolution

Report of the Credentials Committee to the Seventh Review Conference of the States Parties to the Convention on the Prohibition of the Development, Production and Stockpiling of Bacteriological (Biological) and Toxin Weapons and on Their Destruction

The Seventh Review Conference of the States Parties to the Convention on the prohibition of the development, production and stockpiling of bacteriological (biological) and toxin weapons and on their destruction,

 $Having\ considered$ the report of the Credentials Committee and the recommendation contained therein,

Approves the report of the Credentials Committee.