

Distr.: General 24 January 2012

Original: English

Sixty-sixth session Agenda item 138 Scale of assessments for the apportionment of the expenses of the United Nations

## Letter dated 24 January 2012 from the Secretary-General to the President of the General Assembly

1. At present, 21 Member States are in arrears under the terms of Article 19 of the Charter of the United Nations, which states:

A Member of the United Nations which is in arrears in the payment of its financial contributions to the Organization shall have no vote in the General Assembly if the amount of its arrears equals or exceeds the amount of the contributions due from it for the preceding two full years. The General Assembly may, nevertheless, permit such a Member to vote if it is satisfied that the failure to pay is due to conditions beyond the control of the Member.

2. The minimum payments necessary to reduce the amounts owed by those Member States on their contributions so that they remain below the gross amount assessed for the preceding two full years (2010 and 2011) are as follows:

Member State	Minimum payment (United States dollars)
Cape Verde	2 939.66
Central African Republic <sup>a</sup>	295 067.00
Comoros <sup>a</sup>	869 291.00
Dominica	32 619.00
Dominican Republic	255 831.00
Gabon	169 114.00
Gambia	7 745.00
Guinea-Bissau <sup>a</sup>	472 930.00
Kyrgyzstan	35 278.00
Liberia <sup>a</sup>	156 399.00
Marshall Islands	33 234.00
Micronesia (Federated States of)	18 809.00





Member State	Minimum payment (United States dollars)
Palau	21 039.00
Sao Tome and Principe <sup>a</sup>	757 006.00
Somalia <sup>a</sup>	1 185 336.00
Sudan	327 095.00
Swaziland	11 967.00
The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia	81 853.00
Tonga	39 895.00
Vanuatu	15 782.00
Yemen	170 384.00

<sup>a</sup> In its resolution 66/4 of 11 October 2011, the General Assembly decided that the Central African Republic, the Comoros, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Sao Tome and Principe and Somalia should be permitted to vote in the Assembly until the end of its sixty-sixth session.

(Signed) BAN Ki-moon