UNITED NATIONS



SECRETARIAT



ST/AI/200/Amend.2 29 May 1973

ADMINISTRATIVE INSTRUCTION

To:

Members of the staff

From:

The Acting Head,

Office of Financial Services

Subject: TRAVEL EXPENSES IN CONNEXION WITH ANNUAL

LEAVE FROM DESIGNATED DUTY STATIONS

- Administrative instruction ST/AI/200 establishes the conditions under which staff members who are assigned to duty stations where conditions of life are particularly difficult shall be entitled to the payment of travel expenses to a suitable centre for the purpose of taking a substantial period of annual leave.
- The list of designated leave centres shown in the annex to ST/AI/200/Amend.l is hereby amended with effect from 1 June 1973.
- Paragraph 2 (e) of ST/AI/200 providing for the payment by the staff member of \$50 towards the cost of his own travel and that of each eligible dependent who travels with him, subject to a maximum of \$200, is hereby cancelled as of the same date.

ANNEX

Country or territory	Eligible duty station	Leave centre
Argentina	Fuegian Andes and Antarctic - duty stations south of 420 latitude	Cordoba
	Puna (Altoplano) - duty stations at altitude over 10,000 feet	San Carlos de Bariloche
Bangladesh	All	Bangkok
Bolivia	All	Lima
Botswana	All	Nairobi
Burundi	All	Nairobi
Cameroon	All except Yaoundé	Yaoundé*
Central African Republic	All .	Nairobi*
Chad	All	Nairobi*
Colombia	Buenaventura Guajira Leticia Quibdo	Bogota
Dahomey	All except Cotonou	Dakar*
Egypt	Aswan	Beirut
Equatorial Guinea	All	Dakar
Gabon	All	Dakar*
Gilbert and Ellice Is.	All	Suva
Guinea	All	Dakar
Indonesia	All duty stations in West Irian North Sulawesi Sumatra	Singapore
Iran	Dezful	Teheran

^{*} An asterisk indicates that the designated leave centre has been changed.

Country or territory	Eligible duty station	Leave centre
Khmer Republic 1/	All	Bangkok
Laos 1/	All	Bangkok
Lesotho	All	Nairobi
Liberia	All except Monrovia	Dakar
Libyan Arab Republic	Fezzan region	Malta
Maldives	All	Nuwara-Eliya (Sri Lanka)
Mali	All	Dakar
Mauritania	All	Dakar
Niger	All.	Dakar*
Nigeria	All except Lagos	Dakar*
Papua New Guinea	All	Brisbane
Peru	All duty stations on Andean Highlands	Lima
Republic of Viet-Nam	All	Bangkok
Rwanda	All	Nairobi
Saudi Arabia	All	Beirut
Sierra Leone	All except Freetown	Dakar*
Somalia	All	Nairobi
Sudan	All	Nairobi
Swaziland	All	Nairobi
United Arab Emirates	All	Beirut
Upper Volta	All	Dakar
Yemen, People's Democratic Republic of (Aden)	All	Nairobi
Yemen, Arab Republic (Sana'a)	All	Beirut
Zaire	All except Kinshasa	Nairobi [*]
Zambia	All except Lusaka and copper-belt towns	Lusaka

^{1/} The Khmer Republic and Laos have been included on the list on the basis of existing conditions; their position will be reviewed if conditions change.