## **2010 Review Conference of the Parties to the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons**

5 April 2010 English Original: Russian

New York, 3-28 May 2010

## Memorandum on activities of the Kyrgyz Republic in its capacity as the depositary of the Treaty on a Nuclear-Weapon-Free Zone in Central Asia

1. The Republic of Kazakhstan, the Kyrgyz Republic, the Republic of Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and the Republic of Uzbekistan signed the Treaty on a Nuclear-Weapon-Free Zone in Central Asia on 8 September 2006 in order to strengthen the nuclear non-proliferation regime and in the interests of regional security.

2. The designation of the Kyrgyz Republic as the depositary of the Treaty demonstrated the high level of confidence in Kyrgyzstan and the recognition of its significant contribution to the implementation of the initiative to establish a nuclear-free zone in the region (article 18).

3. Since the very inception of the idea to establish a nuclear-free zone in Central Asia, and later in its capacity as depositary, Kyrgyzstan has been actively promoting the interests of the States Parties to the Treaty at various international forums, including meetings of the United Nations General Assembly, the 2005 Review Conference of the Parties to the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons and its Preparatory Committee, the Conference on Disarmament and the United Nations Disarmament Commission. It will be recalled that the working paper on establishing a nuclear-weapon-free zone in Central Asia was first adopted at the historic 1995 Conference of the Parties to the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons.

4. Following the signing of the Treaty on a Nuclear-Weapon-Free Zone in Central Asia, Kyrgyzstan, in accordance with article 18, transmitted certified copies of the Treaty and its accompanying Protocol to all the States of Central Asia and to the permanent members of the United Nations Security Council.

5. In February 2009, the Republic of Kazakhstan deposited its instrument of ratification of the Treaty, which became the fifth domestic procedure implementation document. The Kyrgyz Republic notified the States Parties to the Treaty and the Parties to the Protocol to the Treaty that, in accordance with article 15, the Treaty would enter into force on 21 March 2009.

6. On 20 March 2009, on the eve of the official entry into force of the Treaty, United Nations Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon welcomed the entry into force of





the Treaty in a statement circulated to the delegations of United Nations Member States as an official document.

7. Working jointly with the Kyrgyz delegation to the United Nations in New York, the United Nations Office for Disarmament Affairs published an official United Nations map showing the zone in Central Asia.

8. On 28 May 2009, the Kyrgyz delegation submitted the Treaty to the United Nations Secretariat for registration and legal formalization as an official United Nations document, in accordance with Article 102 of the Charter of the United Nations. The official date of confirmation of registration of the Treaty on a Nuclear-Weapon-Free Zone in Central Asia is 22 July 2009.

9. Important events for the Kyrgyz Republic in its capacity as depositary include the participation of Kyrgyz delegations at the first meeting of focal points of nuclear-weapon-free zones, held in Ulaanbaatar (Mongolia) on 27-28 April 2009, and at a meeting of States members of nuclear-weapon-free zones, held within the framework of the third session of the Preparatory Committee for the 2010 Review Conference of the Parties to the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons (4-15 May 2009, in New York).

10. At their last meeting, stakeholders supported the initiative to hold the second international conference of States Parties to treaties establishing nuclear-weapon-free zones. This is scheduled for 30 April 2010, immediately prior to the 2010 Review Conference of the Parties to the Treaty.

11. Pursuant to the implementation of rule 2 of the rules of procedure to implement article 10 of the Treaty on a Nuclear-Weapon-Free Zone in Central Asia, the Kyrgyz Republic organized a series of meetings of Permanent Representatives to the United Nations and experts in order to decide on the venue of the first consultative meeting, to hold discussions and to draft documents for the meeting.

12. As a result of those discussions, the proposal of the Government of Turkmenistan to hold the consultative meeting in Ashgabat was unanimously supported by all parties concerned.

13. The first annual consultative meeting of States Parties to the Treaty on a Nuclear-Weapon-Free Zone in Central Asia was held in Ashgabat on 15 October 2009. Turkmenistan was designated the functions of focal point for the Treaty, which it will perform in close cooperation with the depositary.

14. The second consultative meeting of States Parties to the Treaty is scheduled to be held in Tashkent in 2010.