2010 Review Conference of the Parties to the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons

15 March 2010

Original: English

New York, 3-28 May 2010

African Nuclear-Weapon-Free Zone Treaty (Treaty of Pelindaba)

Memorandum of the secretariat of the African Union

The Treaty of Pelindaba is a key component of the overall peace and security architecture of the African Union. It can be regarded as one of the building blocks of the Common African Defence and Security Policy, as articulated in the Solemn Declaration adopted by the African Union at its second extraordinary session of the Assembly of Heads of State and Government, held in Sirte, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, on 28 February 2004. Indeed, in the area of nuclear disarmament, the African Union was focused on promoting the ratification and entry into force of the Treaty. The Treaty, which calls for an African nuclear-weapons-free zone, was adopted by the thirty-first ordinary session of the Organization of African Unity summit, held in Addis Ababa in June 1995, and signed in Cairo on 11 April 1996. This was seen as an important step towards the strengthening of the non-proliferation regime, the promotion of cooperation in the peaceful uses of nuclear energy, complete disarmament and the enhancement of regional peace and security. On 22 June 2009, Burundi ratified the Treaty of Pelindaba and deposited its instrument of ratification with the African Union Commission. With this ratification, on 15 July 2009, the Treaty finally entered into force, 13 years after it had been signed.

In accordance with article 12 of the Treaty (mechanism for compliance), States parties to the Treaty agree to establish the African Commission on Nuclear Energy. This is in conformity with article 14 of the Treaty, which states that as soon as the Treaty has entered into force, a Conference should be convened to elect the members of the Commission and determine its headquarters.

In this context, the African Union Commission is planning to convene the first Conference of States Parties (see list below) to the Treaty of Pelindaba, to be held in Addis Ababa from 15 to 17 April 2010, to establish the African Commission on Nuclear Energy and discuss other related issues, including the peaceful uses of nuclear energy.





States parties to the Treaty of Pelindaba
Algeria
Benin
Botswana
Burkina Faso
Burundi
Côte d'Ivoire
Equatorial Guinea
Ethiopia
Gabon
Gambia
Guinea
Kenya
Libyan Arab Jamahiriya
Lesotho
Madagascar
Mali
Malawi
Mozambique
Mauritania
Mauritius
Nigeria
Rwanda
South Africa
Senegal
Swaziland
Togo
Tunisia
United Republic of Tanzania
Zimbabwe