

International Convention on the Protection of the Rights of All Migrant Workers and Members of Their Families

Distr.: General 8 February 2010

Original: English

Meeting of the States Parties

Summary record of the 4th meeting

Held at Headquarters, New York, on Thursday, 3 December 2009, at 10 a.m.

Temporary Chairperson:	Mr. Mokhiber	(Representative of the Secretary-Generative)	ral)
Chairperson:	Mr. Gutiérrez	(Pe	eru)

Contents

Statement by the representative of the Secretary-General

Election of the Chairperson

Adoption of the agenda

Election of officers

Election of nine members of the Committee on the Protection of the Rights of All Migrant Workers and Members of Their Families

This record is subject to correction. Corrections should be sent under the signature of a member of the delegation concerned *within one week of the date of publication* to the Chief of the Official Records Editing Section, room DC2-750, 2 United Nations Plaza, and incorporated in a copy of the record.

Corrections will be issued after the end of the session, in a separate corrigendum for each Committee.





The meeting was called to order at 10.20 a.m.

Statement by the representative of the Secretary-General

1. **The Temporary Chairperson**, speaking on behalf of the Secretary-General, said that, since the third meeting in 2007, the number of States parties to the Convention had increased from 37 to 42. The Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR) would use the occasion of the twentieth anniversary, in 2010, of the adoption of the Convention to promote its ratification, given that protection of human rights in the context of migration was one of the six thematic priorities for OHCHR for the biennium 2010-2011.

2. The Committee on the Protection of the Rights of All Migrant Workers and Members of Their Families had now examined 12 initial reports; 2 further reports were pending. Ecuador was the first State party to have submitted its second periodic report to the Committee. The initial reports of 25 other States were overdue and should be presented without delay in order to enhance the Committee's monitoring function.

3. On 15 September 2008, Mexico had become the second State party to make a declaration under article 77 of the Convention recognizing the Committee's competence to consider communications from individuals about violations of the Convention. The communications procedure would enter into force when 10 States parties had made such a declaration. During its eleventh session the Committee had held a Day of General Discussion on Migrant Domestic Workers and had started work on elaborating a general comment on that subject.

Election of the Chairperson

4. **Ms. Čolaković** (Bosnia and Herzegovina) nominated Mr. Gutiérrez (Peru) as Chairperson.

5. *Mr. Gutiérrez (Peru) was elected Chairperson by acclamation.*

6. Mr. Gutiérrez took the Chair.

Adoption of the agenda (CMW/SP/8)

7. The agenda was adopted.

8. **The Chairperson** drew attention to rules 2 and 3 of the provisional rules of procedure (CMW/SP/3).

Rule 2 provided that the credentials of representatives and the names of members of delegations should be submitted to the Secretary-General not less than one week before the date of the opening of the meeting. As he had yet to receive proper credentials from some of the States parties represented at the meeting, he suggested that, in accordance with rule 3, the representatives of those States parties should be entitled provisionally to participate in the meeting and urged them to submit their credentials as soon as possible.

9. It was so decided.

Election of officers

10. Mr. Onemola (Nigeria) and Mr. Hoxha (Albania) were elected Vice-Chairpersons.

Election of nine members of the Committee on the Protection of the Rights of All Migrant Workers and Members of Their Families (CMW/SP/9, CMW/SP/9/Add.1 and CMW/SP/9/Add.2)

11. **The Chairperson** drew attention to document CMW/SP/9, which contained biographical data on the six candidates nominated by the States parties. Biographical data on three additional candidates, which had been received after the deadline of 4 September 2009, were contained in documents CMW/SP/9/Add.1 and Add.2. He took it that the States parties wished to accept the additional nominees as candidates for the election.

12. It was so decided.

13. **The Chairperson** invited the meeting to elect five members of the Committee to replace the five members whose terms of office will expire on 31 December 2009.

14. At the invitation of the Chairperson, Mr. Yahiaoui (Algeria) acted as teller.

15. A vote was taken by secret ballot.

Number of ballot papers:	41
Number of invalid ballot papers:	1
Number of valid ballot papers:	40
Number of representatives voting:	
Required majority:	21
Number of votes obtained:	
Mr. Brillantes (Philippines)	34
Mr. Ibarra Gonzalez (Guatemala)	34

Mr. Kariyawasam (Sri Lanka)	28
Mr. Tall (Senegal)	22
Mr. Sevim (Turkey)	18
Mr. Carrión Mena (Ecuador)	18
Ms. Miller-Stennett (Jamaica)	17
Mr. Taghizade (Azerbaijan)	14
Ms. Dicko (Mali)	11

16. Having obtained the required majority and the largest number of votes, Mr. Brillantes (Philippines), Mr. Ibarra Gonzalez (Guatemala), Mr. Kariyawasam (Sri Lanka) and Mr. Tall (Senegal) were elected members of the Committee for a term beginning 1 January 2010.

17. The Chairperson said that, since only four candidates had obtained the required majority, a second ballot, restricted to the two candidates who had obtained the next largest number of votes, would be held to fill the remaining vacancy, in accordance with rule 15 of the rules of procedure.

18. A vote was taken by secret ballot.

Number of ballot papers:	41
Number of valid ballot papers:	41
Number of representatives voting:	41
Required majority:	21
Number of votes obtained:	
Mr. Sevim (Turkey)	24
Mr. Carrión Mena (Ecuador)	17

19. Having obtained the required majority, Mr. Sevim (Turkey) was elected a member of the Committee for a term beginning 1 January 2010.

20. **The Chairperson** invited the meeting to elect four additional members in light of the entry into force of the Convention for the forty-first State party on 1 July 2009, in accordance with article 72, paragraphs 1 to 5, of the Convention.

21. At the invitation of the Chairperson, Mr. Yahiaoui (Algeria) acted as teller.

22. A vote was taken by secret ballot.

Number of ballot papers:	41
Number of valid ballot papers:	41
Number of representatives voting:	41
Required majority:	21
Number of votes obtained:	
Ms. Dicko (Mali)	39
Ms. Miller-Stennett (Jamaica)	

Mr. Taghizade (Azerbaijan)	38
Mr. Carrión Mena (Ecuador)	37

23. Having obtained the required majority, Mr. Carrión Mena (Ecuador), Ms. Dicko (Mali), Ms. Miller-Stennett (Jamaica) and Mr. Taghizade (Azerbaijan) were elected members of the Committee for a term beginning 1 January 2010.

24. **The Chairperson**, having drawn names by lot, announced that the two members of the Committee whose terms would expire after two years were Mr. Carrión Mena (Ecuador) and Mr. Taghizade (Azerbaijan).

The meeting rose at 1 p.m.