United Nations E/2010/9/Add.3



Economic and Social Council

Distr.: General 16 February 2010

Original: English

Resumed organizational session for 2010

28 and 29 April 2010 Agenda item 4

Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

Election of 11 members of the Executive Board of the United Nations Children's Fund

Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. The Executive Board of the United Nations Children's Fund has 36 members, elected with due regard to equitable geographical representation and other relevant factors, with a view to ensuring the most effective and broadest representation.
- 2. In accordance with General Assembly resolution 48/162, the Council is to elect, at its resumed organizational session for 2010, 11 members of the Executive Board from among States Members of the United Nations or members of the specialized agencies or of the International Atomic Energy Agency, for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2011, to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2010 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Antigua and Barbuda, Canada, China, Haiti, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Italy, New Zealand, Romania, Russian Federation, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and Zimbabwe.
- 3. The 11 members will be elected on the following basis:
 - (a) One member from African States:
 - (b) Two members from Asian States;
 - (c) Two members from Eastern European States;
 - (d) Two members from Latin American and Caribbean States;
 - (e) Four members from Western European and other States.
- 4. The membership of the Executive Board in 2010 is listed in the annex to the present note.





Annex

Executive Board of the United Nations Children's Fund

(36 members; three-year term)

Membership in 2010

Eight members from African States

Cape Verde (2012), Congo (2012), Liberia (2011), Malawi (2012), Somalia (2012), Sudan (2011), Tunisia (2012), Zimbabwe* (2010)

Seven members from Asian States

Bangladesh (2011), China* (2010), Iran (Islamic Republic of)* (2010), Kazakhstan (2012), Pakistan (2012), Qatar (2012), Republic of Korea (2011)

Four members from Eastern European States

Belarus (2012), Romania* (2010), Russian Federation* (2010), Slovenia (2011)

Five members from Latin American and Caribbean States

Antigua and Barbuda* (2010), Cuba (2011), El Salvador (2012), Haiti* (2010), Uruguay (2011)

Twelve members from Western European and other States

Canada* (2010), Denmark (2012), France (2012), Iceland (2011), Ireland (2012), Italy* (2010), Luxembourg (2012), New Zealand* (2010), Norway (2011), Switzerland (2011), United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland* (2010), United States of America (2011)

10-24119

^{*} Retiring member.