

UNITED NATIONS

GENERAL ASSEMBLY



Distr. GENERAL

A/31/475*
9 February 1977

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Thirty-first session Agenda item 49

GENERAL AND COMPLETE DISARMAMENT

Appointment of the members of the Preparatory Committee for the Special Session of the General Assembly Devoted to Disarmament

Note by the Secretary General

- 1. In paragraph 2 of resolution 31/189 B of 21 December 1976, the General Assembly decided to establish a Preparatory Committee for the Special Session of the General Assembly Devoted to Disarmament, composed of 54 Member States appointed by the President of the Assembly on the basis of equitable geographical distribution.
- 2. In that connexion, the Secretary General has received from the President of the General Assembly the following communication, dated 7 February 1977:

"I have the honour to refer to resolution 31/189 B, adopted at the thirty first session of the General Assembly on 21 December 1976, regarding the establishment of a Preparatory Committee for the Special Session of the General Assembly Devoted to Disarmament, composed of 54 Member States appointed by the President of the Assembly on the basis of equitable geographical distribution, with the mandate of examining all relevant questions relating to the special session, including its agenda, and to submit to the Assembly at its thirty-second session appropriate recommendations thereon.

"I have held consultations with the Chairmen of the various regional groups to give them an opportunity of determining their representation on the basis of equitable geographical distribution, which I was made to understand was generally acceptable and was, in this instance, to conform to the following pattern:

/...

^{*} Reissued to correct an inadvertent error in the transcription of the original.

Africa	14
Asia	11
Eastern Europe	6
Latin America	10
Western Europe and other States	13

"Following my consultations with the Chairmen of the regional groups, I hereby appoint the following countries to be members of the Preparatory Committee:

		Eastern	Latin	Western Europe
Africa	Asia	Europe	America	and other States
(14)	(11)	(6)	(10)	(13)
			(10) Argentina Bahamas Brazil Colombia Cuba Guyana Mexico Panama Peru Venezuela	Australia Austria Belgium Canada France Germany, Federal Republic of Italy Norway Spain Sweden Turkey United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland United States of
				America

"During the course of my consultations, the Group of Western European and other States and the Eastern European Group expressed dissatisfaction with their representation.

"The Group of Western European and other States considered itself entitled to 18 seats in the Committee of 54.

"The Eastern European Group considered that it was entitled to 8 seats.

"The Group of Western European and other States, however, was prepared to reconcile itself to a quota of 13 seats.

"The Eastern European Group, in nominating 6 countries to participate in the Committee, namely, German Democratic Republic, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Union of Soviet Socialist Republics and Yugoslavia, has stated as follows in a letter dated 3 February 1977, addressed to me and indicating its decision:

'The Eastern European regional group most emphatically declares its disagreement with the allocation of seats in the Preparatory Committee for the special session of the United Nations General Assembly made by the President of the General Assembly, as a result of which the regional group of Eastern Europe was given only 6 seats. As it had been repeatedly stated by the Chairmen of this group, the so-called Economic and Social Council formula, on the basis of which the Eastern European regional group was allocated only 6 seats out of 54, could not be applied in this case. Taking into account that the Committee is to be seized of matters related to the limitation of the arms race and to disarmament, its composition must reflect the real role played by the socialist countries of Eastern Europe in this field, which is known to have been taken into consideration in the composition of other bodies for disarmament negotiations.

'The group continues to insist on its demand of allocation to it of 8 seats in the Preparatory Committee (for Bulgaria, Czechoslovakia, the German Democratic Republic, Hungary, Poland, Romania, the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics and Yugoslavia) and agrees to the participation of 6 of its representatives in this Committee only on a temporary basis, for the period until the thirty-second session of the General Assembly, so as not to impede the beginning of the work of the Committee. The group nominated the following 6 countries to participate in the Committee on this basis: German Democratic Republic, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Union of Soviet Socialist Republics and Yugoslavia. The group reserves its right to be allocated additional seats in the Committee at the thirty-second session of the General Assembly and intends to revert to the question of the representation of the countries of the Eastern European group in this body.

"I feel it my duty to observe that the principle or basis of equitable geographical distribution needs more precise definition if protracted discussions and negotiations are to be avoided in the future in giving effect to it. This, however, is a matter for the regional groups themselves to settle in consultation with one another.

"I should make it clear that the precise quota of seats to be allocated to each group in the Preparatory Committee was <u>not</u> determined by the President."

3. As a result of the above appointment, the Preparatory Committee is composed of the following Member States:

Algeria, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Bangladesh, Belgium, Benin, Brazil, Burundi, Canada, Colombia, Cuba, Cyprus, Egypt, Ethiopia, France, German Democratic Republic, Germany, Federal Republic of, Guyana, Hungary, India, Iran, Iraq, Italy, Japan, Liberia, Libyan Arab Republic, Malaysia, Mauritius, Mexico, Morocco, Nepal, Nigeria, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Romania, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Sweden, Tunisia, Turkey, Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America, Venezuela, Yugoslavia, Zaire and Zambia.