

UNITED NATIONS GENERAL ASSEMBLY



Distr. GENERAL

A/31/316 16 December 1976

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Thirty-first session Agenda item 101 (f)

> APPOINTMENTS TO FILL VACANCIES IN THE MEMBERSHIP OF SUBSIDIARY ORGANS OF THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY

> > International Civil Service Commission

Report of the Fifth Committee

Rapporteur: Mr. E. Brian NASON (Ireland)

1. At its 46th meeting, on 10 December 1976, the Fifth Committee considered a note by the Secretary-General (A/31/132/Rev.1) concerning the vacancies which will occur in the membership of the International Civil Service Commission as a result of the expiration on 31 December 1976 of the terms of office of five of its members.

2. In compliance with the procedure set forth in article 4 of the statute of the Commission, the Secretary-General carried out the prescribed consultations, as a result of which he proposed (A/C.5/31/75, para. 4) that the Fifth Committee recommend to the General Assembly that it appoint the following persons as members of the International Civil Service Commission for terms of office of four years, beginning on 1 January 1977:

Mr. Amjad Ali	(Pakistan)
Mr. Michael O. Ani	(Nigeria)
Mr. Anatoly Semënovich Chistyakov	(Union of Soviet Socialist Republics)
Mr. P. N. Haksar	(India)
Mrs. Halima Warzazi	(Morocco)

3. The Fifth Committee decided, without objection, to recommend to the General Assembly that it appoint Mr. Amjad Ali, Mr. Michael O. Ani, Mr. A. S. Chistyakov, Mr. P. N. Haksar and Mrs. Halima Warzazi as members of the International Civil Service Commission for terms of office of four years, beginning on 1 January 1977 (see para. 4 below).

76-28082

/...

A/31/316 English Page 2

RECOMMENDATION OF THE FIFTH COMMITTEE

4. The Fifth Committee recommends to the General Assembly the adoption of the following draft resolution:

<u>Appointments to fill vacancies in the membership</u> of the International Civil Service Commission

The General Assembly

<u>Appoints</u> the following persons as members of the International Civil Service Commission for a four-year term beginning on 1 January 1977:

Mr. Amjad Ali,

Mr. Michael O. Ani,

Mr. Anatoly Semënovich Chistyakov,

Mr. P. N. Haksar,

Mrs. Halima Warzazi.