

## Summary of meetings Thursday, 17 September 2009

## Sessional Committee II – First plenary meeting

# Item 5 Economic development in Africa: Strengthening regional economic integration for Africa's development

Mr. Supachai Panitchpakdi, Secretary-General of UNCTAD, made an opening statement. This was followed by an introductory statement by Mr. Habib Ouane, Director of the Division for Africa, Least Developed Countries and Special Programmes.

The representatives of the following member States made statements: Thailand (on behalf of the Group of 77 and China); Côte d'Ivoire (on behalf of the African Group); Chile (on behalf of the Latin American and Caribbean States); Sri Lanka (on behalf of the Asian Group); Bangladesh (on behalf of the Least Developed Countries); Sweden (on behalf of the European Union); Cuba; Norway; Kenya; Lesotho; Benin; Rwanda; China; South Africa; the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela; Thailand; Angola; Cameroon; and Senegal. The representative of Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa also made a statement.

The Director of the Division for Africa, Least Developed Countries and Special Programmes made concluding remarks.

## Sessional Committee II – Second plenary meeting

# Item 5 Economic development in Africa: Strengthening regional economic integration for Africa's development (continued)

Mr. Supachai Panitchpakdi, Secretary-General of UNCTAD, made opening remarks.

A presentation by keynote speaker Mr. Ademola Oyejide, Professor of Economics and Director of the Trade Policy Research and Training Programme at the University of Ibadan, Nigeria, on "Regional integration and the way forward" was read out by the secretariat in his absence.

The following panelists then made presentations: Mr. Offong Ambah, Director-General, Ecobank, Nigeria; Mr. Adama Deen, Transportation Advisor, New Partnership for Africa's Development; and Mr. Peter Thompson, Director for Development and Economic Partnership Agreements, European Commission.

Mr. Gervais Nkanagu, Chief of the Brussels Liaison Office of the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa, made a short presentation.

During the interactive debate, the representatives of the following member States took the floor: Lesotho; Mali; Nigeria; Angola; Senegal; Algeria; Namibia; Rwanda; Switzerland; and the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela. The representative of the Coordination des ONG africaines des droits de l'homme also made a statement.