



Distr.: General 28 August 2009

Original: English

Sixty-third session Agenda item 17 The situation in Afghanistan

## Letter dated 26 August 2009 from the Chargé d'affaires a.i. of the Permanent Mission of Lithuania to the United Nations addressed to the Secretary-General

In Lithuania's capacity as President of the Community of Democracies, I have the honour to transmit the text of the statement by the Community of Democracies Convening Group on the elections in Afghanistan, dated 26 August 2009 (see annex).

I should be grateful if the present letter and its annex could be circulated as a document of the sixty-third session of the General Assembly under agenda item 17.

(*Signed*) Ridas **Petkus** Chargé d'affaires a.i.





## Annex to the letter dated 26 August 2009 from the Chargé d'affaires a.i. of the Permanent Mission of Lithuania to the United Nations addressed to the Secretary-General

## Statement by the Community of Democracies Convening Group on the elections in Afghanistan\*

The Community of Democracies congratulates the people of Afghanistan on the Presidential and provincial elections, which have demonstrated the will of Afghans to follow their democratic constitution, build democracy and democratic governance in the country.

The Community of Democracies particularly commends the courage and the allegiance of the millions of Afghan women and men who have chosen to exercise their constitutional right to vote and thus have set an excellent example of civic responsibility and contributed to democracy not only in their country but also globally.

The Community of Democracies furthermore welcomes the efforts of the Afghan and international security forces, the observers and all other stakeholders who helped in the elections and who continue to support national unity and stability in Afghanistan.

\* This statement is being made of behalf of the Convening Group of the Community of Democracies, chaired by Lithuania. The following 17 countries are the members of the Group: Cape Verde, Chile, the Czech Republic, El Salvador, India, Italy, Lithuania, Mali, Mexico, Mongolia, Morocco, the Philippines, Poland, Portugal, the Republic of Korea, South Africa and the United States of America.