United Nations A/64/307

Distr.: General 18 August 2009

Original: English

Sixty-fourth session
Item 111 (a) of the provisional agenda\*
Elections to fill vacancies in subsidiary organs and other elections

## **Election of seven members of the Committee for Programme and Coordination**

## Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. In accordance with Economic and Social Council resolution 2008 (LX) and General Assembly decision 42/450, the members of the Committee for Programme and Coordination are nominated by the Council and elected by the Assembly.
- 2. The membership of the Committee in 2009 is as follows (the term of office expires on 31 December in the year indicated): Argentina (2011); Armenia (2011); Bangladesh (2010); Belarus (2011); Brazil (2011); Central African Republic (2011); China (2010); Comoros (2009); Cuba (2011); France (2009); Guinea (2011); Haiti (2009); India (2011); Iran (Islamic Republic of) (2011); Israel (2009); Italy (2011); Jamaica (2010); Kazakhstan (2011); Kenya (2010); Libyan Arab Jamahiriya (2010); Niger (2010); Nigeria (2011); Pakistan (2011); Republic of Korea (2010); Russian Federation (2009); South Africa (2011); Spain (2011); Ukraine (2011); Uruguay (2011); Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of) (2009); and Zimbabwe (2009).
- 3. The General Assembly, at its sixty-fourth session, will be called upon to elect seven members, on the nomination of the Economic and Social Council, to fill the vacancies in the Committee that will occur on 31 December 2009 upon the expiration of the terms of office of the following members: Comoros, France, Haiti, Israel, Russian Federation, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of) and Zimbabwe.
- 4. In accordance with General Assembly decision 42/450, the vacancies are to be filled as follows:
  - (a) Two members from African States;
  - (b) One member from Eastern European States;

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> There are four vacancies in the Group of Western European and Other States for members whose terms of office would begin on the date of election. Three terms will expire on 31 December 2011 and one term on 31 December 2012.





<sup>\*</sup> A/64/150.

- (c) Two members from Latin American and Caribbean States;
- Two members from Western European and other States.
- By its decision 2009/201 C and 2009/201 D, the Economic and Social Council nominated the following six Member States for election by the General Assembly at its sixty-fourth session for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2010: Comoros, Haiti, Israel, Namibia, Russian Federation and Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of).
- 6. The geographical distribution of the nominated Member States is as follows:
  - African States (two vacancies): Comoros and Namibia;
  - Eastern European States (one vacancy): Russian Federation; (b)
- Latin American and Caribbean States (two vacancies): Haiti and Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of);
  - (d) Western European and other States (two vacancies): Israel.<sup>2</sup>

<sup>2</sup> The Council postponed the nomination of one member from Western European and other States for election by the General Assembly for a three-year term beginning 1 January 2010 (decision 2009/201 D).

09-48614 2