

## UNITED NATIONS GENERAL ASSEMBLY



Distr.
GENERAL

A/33/322 23 October 1978

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Thirty-third session Agenda item 109 (b)

APPOINTMENTS TO FILL VACANCIES IN THE MEMBERSHIP OF SUBSIDIARY ORGANS OF THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY

## Committee on Contributions

## Report of the Fifth Committee

Rapporteur: Mr. Hamzah Mohammed HAMZAH (Syrian Arab Republic)

- 1. At its 15th meeting, on 13 October 1978, the Fifth Committee considered a note by the Secretary-General (A/33/122) concerning the vacancies which will occur in the membership of the Committee on Contributions as a result of the expiration on 31 December 1978 of the terms of office of six of its members.
- 2. The members of the Fifth Committee had been invited to submit the names of persons who might be recommended to the General Assembly for appointment to the Committee on Contributions in accordance with the provisions of rules 158 and 159 of the rules of procedure of the General Assembly. Six names were submitted for the consideration of the Committee (A/C.5/33/18).
- 3. On the proposal of the Chairman, the Fifth Committee decided, without objection, to dispense with the secret ballot since there were six candidates for the six vacancies.
- 4. The Fifth Committee then decided, by acclamation, to recommend Mr. Amjad Ali (Pakistan), Mr. Denis Bauchard (France), Mr. Anatoly Semënovich Chistyakov (Union of Soviet Socialist Republics), Mr. Marco Antonio Cubillas Estrada (Mexico), Mr. Wilfried Koschorreck (Federal Republic of Germany) and Mr. Sung Hsin-chung (China) to the General Assembly for appointment as members of the Committee on Contributions for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 1979.

## RECOMMENDATION OF THE FIFTH COMMITTEE

5. The Fifth Committee recommends that the General Assembly should appoint the following persons as members of the Committee on Contributions for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 1979:

A/33/322 English Page 2

Mr. Amjad Ali,

Mr. Denis Bauchard,

Mr. Anatoly Semënovich Chistyakov

Mr. Marco Antonio Cubillas Estrada,

Mr. Wilfried Koschorreck,

Mr. Sung Hsin-chung.