

UNITED NATIONS

GENERAL ASSEMBLY



Distr. GENERAL

A/33/236/Rev.1 12 December 1978

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Thirty-third session Agenda item 22

ELECTION OF SEVEN MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE FOR PROGRAMME AND CO-ORDINATION

Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. In accordance with paragraph 7 of the terms of reference of the Committee for Programme and Co-ordination (Economic and Social Council resolution 2008 (LX) of 14 May 1976, annex), the members of the Committee are nominated by the Economic and Social Council and elected by the General Assembly for a term of three years.
- 2. The membership of the Committee for Programme and Co-ordination for 1978 is as follows:

Argentina,** Belgium,* Brazil,*** Bulgaria,* Burundi,*** Byelorussian Soviet Socialist Republic,* Chile,* Colombia,** Denmark,* France,** Ghana,*** India,*** Indonesia,*** Japan,*** Kenya,*** Pakistan,* Sudan,** Uganda,** Union of Soviet Socialist Republics,** United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland,* and United States of America.**

78-31139

^{*} Term of office expires on 31 December 1978.

^{**} Term of office expires on 31 December 1979.

^{***} Term of office expires on 31 December 1980.

^{3.} The General Assembly, at its thirty-third session, will therefore be called upon to elect seven members, on the nomination of the Economic and Social Council, to fill the vacancies in the Committee for Programme and Co-ordination which will occur as a result of the expiration of the term of office of: Belgium, Bulgaria, Byelorussian Soviet Socialist Republic, Chile, Denmark, Pakistan and United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. In accordance with paragraph 7 of the terms of reference of the Committee, the vacancies are to be filled as follows:

A/33/236/Rev.l English Page 2

One member from Asian States;
One member from Latin American States;
Two members from socialist States of Eastern Europe;
Three members from Western Europe and other States.

4. By its decision 1978/40 of 11 May 1978, as amended at its 44th meeting, on 27 November, the Economic and Social Council nominated the following seven Member States for election by the General Assembly at its thirty-third session, for a term of three years, beginning on 1 January 1979: Belgium, Norway, Pakistan, Romania, Trinidad and Tobago, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and Yugoslavia.